Picture Book Month

Standard


When Picture Book Month was created a few weeks ago I was confused. I had just learned about NaNoWriMo(National Novel Writing Month), and I was nervous to take on another project in November.  However, I am a giant picture book fan, so I decided to take the plunge (I have found that following Mr. Schu’s lead is always a good thing).

I love how much my fourth graders love picture books.  Giving them permission to read and enjoy picture books during class time, is something that they really love and appreciate.  At about second grade, it seems like kids often get the picture book rug swept out from underneath their feet.  They were taught for their entire life to read and enjoy stories through picture books, and then, once they start growing as readers, they are often told not to read picture books any more.

Don’t get me wrong, my fourth graders are not just sitting around and only reading picture books, but picture books are a part of their reading lives.

For picture book month my class decided that we would all share an Elephant and Pigge book with another class.  Students are doing a paired reading to either a class in our building or they are reading to another class via Skype.  Here is a sample of a day in our life during  Picture Book Month:

On November 10th, we celebrated Picture Book Month with 4 Skypes with a combined distance from our classroom of over 1200 miles. I have zero experience with Google Maps, but I thought it would be a fun way to share our day (excited to learn more about using Google Maps).

4 thoughts on “Picture Book Month

  1. Kristin McIlhagga

    It was FANTASTIC!!! I have some students who said they were going to go and get a copy of the Elephant and Piggy Books for themselves. The #titletalk was definitely a high point in my day – no, my week actually. We could have easily talked with your students for another 10 minutes and shared titles. I’m going to bring in The Dot next week along with the Lane Smith you mentioned. We’ll send an email with our thoughts and reviews!

  2. What a great idea! I reccommend Elephant and Piggie to any families with older kids who can read to younger kids. it’s perfect for them to share and they can practice their fluency and those books are so stinkin’ funny! Love the Google Map!!

Leave a Reply

