Ten Picture Books I loved in 2011

Standard

I’m not sure how to honor the books I loved most in 2011. I’ve decided to just name some of my favorites, and write ONE sentence about each one of them. The ten favorites were hard to pick, but what was even harder was only writing once sentence about each book. Here is what I came up with.

Paul Thurlby’s Alphabet by Paul Thurlby

The amazing pictures in this book make it my all time favorite alphabet book.

 

Balloons over Broadway: The True Story of the Puppeteer of Macy’s Parade by Melissa Sweet

I am not a huge fan of nonfiction anything, but this book captured my heart with unforgettable illustrations.

You Will be My Friend by Peter Brown

I just want to be Lucy’s friend.

 

Where’s Walrus by Stephen Savage

I read this book at least 75 times to my daughter because she absolutely this book.

Me..Jane by Patrick McDonnell

The last page turn still takes my breath away.

 

Prudence Wants a Pet by Cathleen Daly

My three year old daughter is so much like Prudence.

The Book With a Hole by Herve Tullet

I could have gone with Press Here, but I don’t want people to forget about this brilliant book.


Cloudette by Tom Lichtenheld

I fell in love with this little cloud trying to find its place in the sky.

 

Over and Under the Snow by Kate Messner

You know a book is great when your students start clapping uncontrollably when you finish.

 

Little Chicken’s Big Day by Katie and Jerry Davis

“I hear you cluckin’, Big Chicken,” was stuck in my head for weeks after reading this book for the first time.

 

7 thoughts on “Ten Picture Books I loved in 2011

  1. Oh I absolutely LOVE it when kids applaud when you finish reading a book. I need to check out Over and Under the Snow but my library doesn’t have it yet. Gonna have to talk to them about buying it methinks.

  2. Colby – Now I have some non-fiction picture books just for you. We will change your mind. :-)

    And any list that has LITTLE CHICKEN’S BIG DAY on it rules! – Mine will be up tomorrow hopefully. Just finishing up the one on Graphic Novels.

Leave a Reply

