The Newbery Challenge – 1922-Present

Standard

I am very excited to be co-hosting and participating in The Newbery Challenge with teacher-librarian Mr. Schu. This stress free challenge is explained in detail by Mr. Schu in the video below.

a

My goal is to read every Newbery winner in chronological order over the next two years. I will be posting short video reviews for each title.

a

For more challenge information please click the image below.

Click here to download a Newbery Challenge badge.

13 thoughts on “The Newbery Challenge – 1922-Present

  1. I SO love that this is a stress free challenge. I’m trying to figure out my take on it. I’m thinking I’ll work backwards from the 2012 winner, and try to read one or two a month in 2012.

  2. You’re a better man than I, Mr. Sharp. (Well, obviously, but I digress.) I tried to read the Newbery winners chronologically 5 years ago or so, and got stuck about two chapters into Story of Mankind. Maybe I’ll join Mary Lee in working backward!

  3. You are brave. I’m scared of the older Newbery winner’s. I think I could read the ones from the last 30 or 40 years. I did check out the Story of Mankind for fun…but I haven’t cracked it open yet. It just looks like a book I wouldn’t like…good luck! I’ll cheer you on!

  4. Lisa

    If you want to tackle the earlier books, I would recommend starting with The Voyages of Doctor Dolittle and Call it Courage. Both very enjoyable reads!

Leave a Reply

