Mock Caldecott Update

Standard

When my friend Mr. Schu and I started our little mock Caldecott project at the beginning of the month, I was super excited to see what our students thought of what we feel are 20 pretty amazing picture books. It has been a joy watching them fall in love with these books over the course of three weeks, like Mr. Schu and I have feel in love with them over the course of 2012.

The one thing that has surprised me about this little project is how much more I have fallen in love with some of these books.

Here’s a quick list of 5 books that I have fallen deeper and deeper in love with because of the work our classrooms are doing with these books.

A Home for Bird

A Home for Bird by Philip C. Stead is a one of those books that I wish I could read again for the first time. The first time I read it I was completely mesmerized.  Although I cannot reread it again for the first time, it has been a joy watching 52 fourth graders fall in love with Stead’s beautiful book.

Boy and Bot

For the last couple of weeks Mr. Schu’s students have Skyped with my classroom to talk mock Caldecott. A few students from each class share a book that they love, and why they love think it is an excellent picture book. Boy + Bot is a book that, without fail, is talked about each and every time. It’s fun to see that the students and librarian at Brook Forest love this book as much as the fourth graders and their teacher in Battle Creek.

Fifty Cents and a Dream: Young Booker T. Washington

Fifty Cents and a Dream was a book that I hadn’t read before we started this project. I am finding that this book is creating some of the most interesting conversations. Students are mesmerized with both the story and the illustrations. I am feeling very thankful that Mr. Schu picked this book to be a part of our project.

All my students love this book. Every. Single. One.

Dear Authors,

Book trailers work. My students were salivating the day I brought Cordell’s book into the classroom. After watching the trailer students wouldn’t stop asking me when we would get this book. It got the point that it was cutely annoying.

Your friend,

Mr. Sharp

**************************************************

If I have learned anything from this project it is that the picture book is: alive, powerful, and important.

2 thoughts on “Mock Caldecott Update

  1. Erika Victor

    On the word of both of you I ordered the 16 I did not already own- most have arrived by now. My students have been excited to follow along. I read Green to them today and they were hooked!

Leave a Reply

