Book Giving Day: The Boys

Standard

I teach two sections of fourth grade language arts. This year my teaching partner and I decided to separate the boys and the girls. I had the boys and my teaching partner took the girls.

As a part of the party the kids celebrated International Book Giving Day by purchasing a book for a classmate. They had no idea who they’d be buying a book for they only knew that student’s: favorite books, favorite genre, and favorite authors. They spent the better part of two weeks trying to figure out who they were buying books for. Most of them figured it out (I take that as a sign that they really know each other as readers.), but that didn’t  squash the excitement when I told them who to exchange books with.

I hope you enjoy the pictures of my book-giving-rock-star-readers. I will share pictures from the girl party next week.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

8 thoughts on “Book Giving Day: The Boys

      • Eliza

        Thank you for replying. Great point. The excitement of both a book exchange and Valentine’s Day could lead to lots of drama. I’m looking forward to seeing the pictures from the girls exchange. It’s been fun to see which books were given and to compare if there’s a big difference between the two groups.

        I celebrated by giving 10 boxes of books (middle grade and YA, with a few picture books) to the Children’s Book Project, an organization in San Francisco that distributes books to kids that otherwise wouldn’t get them – directly to kids, to homeless shelters, schools, darecare and community centers. Plus, I randomly leave books with a note outside a school, on the bus, at playgrounds, hopsital waiting rooms. It spreads the book love around and keeps books off my floors.

  1. Thanks so much for sharing these photos from your International Book Giving Day book swap! It’s awesome that your kids seem to know their books so well. They have selected a range of books here. (Be sure to add a link to this post to our blog hop!) -Amy

Leave a Reply

