Unplug & Read: Lunch Lady and the Video Game Villain

Standard

Last week I shared my plans for Screen Free Week while reviewing Rump: The True Story of Rumpelstiltskin.

Since them Random House Kids has come out with this sweet Screen Free Week video.

11 Days - Lunch Lady_11

I usually don’t do book talks (I don’t like to call them book reviews) for books late in a series. I figure enough people already know about the series, so I should focus my attention on something else. However, Lunch Lady and the Video Game Villains is extra special to me for a very cool reason. I’ll share that very cool reason a little later, but first I will give you 5 reasons why this Lunch Lady edition is a must own book.

1. The Cover

I know. I know. Don’t judge a book by it’s cover. That makes sense, but this cover has some really cool stuff going on, so I feel comfortable judging this book by its amazing cover. I’m not sure what is going on with Lunch Lady’s gloves on the cover, but they feel cool when your rub them. Be sure to check it out and rub away when you get the chance.

2. Crazy Straw Earpiece

The gadgets at Lunch Lady’s disposal make each book so much fun to read.

3. Babymouse

If you know me at all, you know that I am somewhat of a big Babymouse fan, and I was super excited to see the Babymouse sighting in Jarrett’s book.

4. All Great Things Must Come to an End

I can’t believe that we only have one more Lunch Lady book before Jarrett closes the door on the series. I’m thankful that Jarrett wrote this amazing series for young readers. I’m glad that I’ll get to experiecne Lunch Lady each year with a new group of young readers.

5. The Set Up

Boy does this book ever set up book 10. All of my readers that have read Lunch Lady and the Video Game Villain are dying to read book 10 to see how Jarrett wraps up this epic series.

The reason that Lunch Lady and the Video Game Villain is so special to me is because of the back cover. The quotes in the “What The Kids Are Saying” section come from two of my students from last year. Seeing their names and their thoughts about Lunch Lady on the back cover is without a doubt one of the coolest things I have experienced.

lunch lady

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

