5 Things I Loved About Last Week #celebratuelu

Standard

Be sure to visit Ruth Ayers blog to check out how our friends are celebrating today.

Be sure to visit Ruth Ayers blog to check out how our friends are celebrating today.

Another great week is in the books, and I’m excited to share 5 awesome things from it.

1. Hour Of Code

On Friday, we welcomed two high school students into our classroom to help us celebrate Hour of Code. I didn’t really know what to expect, but I’m all about trying something new.

The hour was magical. I loved watching their little hands work through their coding lessons. The thing that I loved most was seeing which students excelled in coding. I was shocked to see which kids took right too it. 

2. Mock Caldecott

We are wrapping up our Mock Caldecott unit and our opinion writing unit. During the week students worked in partnerships to write a piece to convince each other to vote for the book that they think deserves to win. I loved watching them use what they learned in the two units to create a beautiful piece of writing.

3. Because of Winn-Dixie

The highlight of the week was finishing our class read aloud of Kate DiCamillo’s Because of Winn-Dixie. I wrote about on Tuesday in my Slice of Life post. Finishing Winn-Dixie was a magical moment.

4. Nerdlution

#nerdlution

I have written for almost 20 consecutive days. A big reason for that is the Nerdlution community. Thanks, friends!

5. Nerdy Book Club Friends

I am so blessed to have met so many wonderful friends through Twitter and the Nerdy Book Club. Because of one of these friends, I was able to purchase Rose Bowl tickets to see my beloved Spartans play in Pasadena in January. It is amazing think about how many amazing things have happened to me because of the people that are in my life. I feel truly blessed.

8 thoughts on “5 Things I Loved About Last Week #celebratuelu

  1. Sounds like a good week for sure, Colby. I hope you post the results of your mock Caldecott-interested to see what the students decide. Congrats on your 20 days, some say habits are made in 21 days-almost there!

  2. Barbara Maguire

    No wonder I love your posts! As a fellow Spartan, I’m envious. I hope you’ll write about your Rose Bowl experience for the rest of us to enjoy. Go Green! :)

  3. Happy for you and your Rose Bowl tickets :) (Saw when you tweeted that news earlier today!) the whole week was special, it seems :) I wish I could say Nerdlution was having an effect on me, but I knew that with the way my life goes and my brain works, it wasn’t going to be a daily effort. Still…I’m getting a little closer to launching my blogs. That’s the only thing that’s at least improving! So happy you’re writing EVERY day :D

  4. Kate DiCamillo has become one of my favorite children’s authors. We read Because of Winn-Dixie in a Literature Circle group and I heard some of the most beautiful thoughts this year, because I listened and let the discussion take its course. My all time favorite is The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane. I have read it out loud more than once, but still need tissues nearby. Some of her books have been translated into Estonian and I boldly recommend the Tale of Desperaux and The Magician’s Elephant to strangers in the bookstore.
    I like the joy and appreciation you include in your celebrations about supportive communities.

Leave a Reply

