5,4,3,2,1 Interview Stacy McAnulty

Standard

I really love celebrating books with a 5,4,3,2,1 interview. I’m super excited to have Stacy McAnulty on sharpread for today’s interview. These interviews are simple. I give the author 5 questions. They answer a question with 5,4,3,2, and 1 sentence. They decide how they want to use their sentences.

Enjoy!

What is your favorite thing about being a writer? (1 sentence)

I love to make stuff up.

What’s the hardest thing about being a writer? (2 sentences)

Sometimes the idea in my head is wonderful, but then I put it on paper and it stinks. I hate when I can’t make a “brilliant” idea work.

If you could spend one day inside the world of any book which book would you pick? (4 sentences)

I’m in a Christmassy mood so I’ll pick How the Grinch Stole Christmas. I love Whoville—the decorations, the music, the big-eyed little children.  I’d even be willing to try their strange food, like the roast beast. And I’d really like to give Max, the Grinch’s loyal dog, some treats and a deserving hug.

What advice do you have for the young writers in my classroom? (5 sentences)

When writing creatively, take the time to brainstorm. Your first idea may not be your best one. I read about a sitcom writer who creates ten punch lines for each joke. You can brainstorm ten ideas for jokes, plot, characters, or just about anything. For example: if you are having problems creating an ending to your story, try to brainstorm ten possible outcomes—I bet one will work for you.

As part of this blog tour, Stacy is including a cookie with each post.

And now for the daily cookie (this one uses cheese)…

Oreo Cream Cheese Balls

(visit http://stacymcanulty.blogspot.com/ for the recipe)

About Stacy:

Stacy lives in North Carolina with her three children, two dogs, and one husband. She loves books, Christmas, dinosaurs, and cookies. DEAR SANTASAURUS (Boyd Mills Press, 2013) is her first picture book. For more information on Stacy, please visit www.stacymcanulty.com

One thought on “5,4,3,2,1 Interview Stacy McAnulty

  1. This was a fun interview and I TOTALLY agree with you on Whoville and brainstorming, Stacy :)

    For whatever reason, the pics didn’t load–at least not for me–but people can see the cover of DEAR SANTASAURUS through your site :) Thanks for the interview, Stacy and Colby :D

Leave a Reply

