Bringing Graphic Novels into the Library

My school does not have a teacher-librarian.  We have a part time aide that runs the library. She retired holiday break, and we had no idea what we were going to do in the library.

The school decided to hire a sub to fill the role for the remainder of the year. She is a wonderful woman whose children have gone through our school. This woman is on a mission. I can’t believe the way she has managed to transform our library in a few  short weeks. She has been asking all of her friends to donate books to the school library. It’s working.

She asked me what I thought the library needed. I told her graphic novels. We had zero. Not even a Diary of a Wimpy Kid. I sent her a Google Doc that Mr.Schu put together over the summer and she got right to work.

This is the book bookshelf that you see when you walk into our library.

Here is our brand new graphic novel section.

We have a long way to go, but I’m feeling a positive vibe in the library. It has been a lot of fun working with our new librarian. I can’t wait to see what happens the rest of the school year.

This is what the graphic novel section looked like after a third grade class visited the day the graphic novel section was put in the library.

Before too long I hope our graphic novel section will look like Mr. Schu’s did at the beginning of the school year.

m3blc.jpg

7 thoughts on “Bringing Graphic Novels into the Library

  1. My heart hurts that you all don’t have a full-time teacher-librarian, but it also sings because you DO have someone that is serious about transforming your library. It sounds like she is going to do some awesome things there.

    Like

  2. Sadly, I can relate. Wonder if we have you beat…our library was moved into the music room (!) to accomodate a bulging student population and an increased need for classrooms. As you can imagine we now have limited access and limited support…our part time librarian is in only twice a week for a half-day. My kids don’t want to go to the library either…sigh. Doing what I can to keep books in hands! And by the way…I am SO IMPRESSED with your agility climbing up and down on those desks!! :o)

    Like

  3. I am a librarian in a 5th & 6th grade library in Central Arkansas. This is my first year and I am loving it. I am desperately in need of more graphic novels, so Mr Schu’s list would be a tremendous help. Also I would love to know where he finds his graphic novels. I really would like to find a company that puts them out in hardback, because the kiddos here devour them. Paperbacks are easily destroyed by all the love. Which is not great for my tiny budget.

    Like

Leave a Reply

