SOL #9 The Big Day

At different stages of my life I’ve looked up to different people. Off the top of my head, I was able to come up with a few of those people.

Here’s my list:

Birth-Now- My Parents

That one is easy. My parents are rock stars. I could not be luckier.

********************

6-10 Alan Trammel, Detroit Tigers

I think pretty much every baseball loving kind in Michigan looked up to #3.

********************

8-14 Barry Sanders

Best. Running Back. Ever.

********************

10 O.J. Simpson

I’m so embarrassed.

I read an O.J. picture book biography about 50 times in fourth grade. I was obsessed with his football career. I could walk into my elementary library today and go to the exact spot where that biography use to sit.

I bet they don’t have it anymore.

********************

10-20 Brett Favre

I still love the old gunslinger, but I was obsessed most of my childhood.

********************

18-Now-My wife

A day doesn’t go by, when I don’t feel like the luckiest dude in the world.v My wife is AMAZING.

"In Everything, Give Thanks..."

********************

20-28 Tom Izzo

Yup, my coach is better than your coach. No offense, but Tom Izzo is the greatest motivator, teacher, and leader on the hardwood.

 

********************

28-30 Donalyn Miller

********************

The Book Whisperer is someone that I look to for support, advice, counsel, and friendship. Today she is leading P.D. in my district. She’ll be spending part of that time with my 9 and 10 year old readers. I cannot wait.

I’m nervous

scared

excited

worried

and grateful.

Wish me luck!

20 thoughts on “SOL #9 The Big Day

  1. This is a fun idea for a post – might just swipe it for later!
    Your wife is a lucky lady, too, to have a husbad who puts on this list! 🙂
    Speaking of lucky, your district has been incredibly blessed this year. Dr. Allington visiting earlier and now Donalyn???? Cannot fully explain how jealous I am!
    Have a wonderful day together! I’ll be wishing I was there with both of you!

    Like

  2. Yes I loved how you mixed the videos in with writing and photos. Very cool idea! Have fun. I saw her speak at NCTE and then had to go introduce myself and totally geeked out on her.

    Like

  3. I am excited and nervous for you (it took me three tries to spell “excited” correctly), but I also know that it’ll be awesome. Have fun! I’m looking forward to (and excited/nervous for) meeting you both tomorrow!

    Like

  4. I love how you put a picture of your wife and kids! Also, I am a huge fan of Donalyn MIller as well!! I hope you and your kids have an amazing time with her. Make sure to get a picture & autograph with her! 🙂

    Like

  5. That is so freakin’ awesome that Donalyn is coming to do PD at your school. I wish I could be a fly on the wall in your classroom today. Oh who am I kidding? I wish I could be teacher observing in your classroom today. 🙂

    You have a gorgeous family. You are pretty amazing yourself.

    I can’t wait to meet you tomorrow. Hopefully we’ll get some time to talk. I’m sure you’ll be swarmed like the rock star teacher that you are. 🙂

    Like

  6. I love this post. I’m LOVING the fact that Donalyn will get all embarrassed when she sees it but it is so true. I look up to her and you – thanks my reading rockstars! Your family is gorgeous, what a lucky guy you are. And I think I already told you, I look up to your basketball coach too. I believe ours (U of I) will be gone shortly.

    Oh – don’t be embarrassed by OJ, we all have someone like that. My son, Luke, did a biography report on Tiger Woods last year. He had to create a timeline and my husband turned to me and said, “What date should we stop him at?” Oh yikes.

    Like

  7. Wow! What a day in store for you! I have to say I am J.E.A.L.O.U.S! Savor the day. I love the age ranges given with the people you look up to, that puts a great frame around the person. This has got to make your wife smile. 🙂

    Like

  8. Just awesome to be able to work with Donalyn Miller. You are lucky. This is a great idea about the people you’ve admired through your life. OJ isn’t so bad-he was a great football player & we couldn’t know what was going to happen later. I can understand the admiration of a 4th grader. Thanks Colby!

    Like

  9. What a creative structure. I love it. The video clips are fun. Your ending with one word on each line really stressed your thoughts. Hope you had a wonderful day with Donalyn Miller. Maybe we will hear about what you learned.

    Like

  10. I totally get being completely freaked out in an amazing excited way to have your hero come to YOUR classroom. Are you kidding me?!? I explain to others about these amazing teacher leaders in our PD world and I say they’re like rock stars to teachers. How awesome! I can’t wait to hear how your day went. I so appreciate you posting the video of Donalyn I hadn’t heard her speak, but have heard/read so many tweets about her. What a great speech!

    Like

Leave a Reply

