Crow – By: Barbara Write

Be sure to check out Barabara Wright’s interview with Mr. Schu and her Nerdy Book Club post.

I fall in love with characters. I connect with them. I read them out of the book and into my heart. I am a character guy.

When I picked up Crow by Barbara Wright, I fully expected to fall in love with the main character, Moses. I had read the stared reviews, and I was so excited to connect with Moses.

I did connect with Moses, and I loved Crow. The thing that surprised me about this book was how much I fell in love with his grandmother (you must read what Barbara says about Boo Nanny on Watch.Connect.Read). I found myself fascinated with a character that grew up and lived so much of her life in slavery. Reading about how she tried to adjust to a life outside of slavery, filled with racism, was so interesting to me.

I’m fascinated by books that involve characters struggling with the changes going on in the world. Recently, I read Newbery Medal winning book Waterless Mountain and Newbery Honor winner Dogsong. In both of those books the main character is struggling with the change in times. I kept thinking of Crow while I read Waterless Mountain and Dogsong. All of these books make me think of people today trying to adjust to a life of cell phones, Facebook, ATMs, and the internet.

Watching Boo Nanny struggle with how to live in this changing world caused me to think about what it was like for slaves after the Emancipation Proclamation. It seems like their are a lot of great books that show the difficulties faced during slavery and the difficulties faced during segregation, but reading about the difficulties faced during the time period in Crow was new for me.

I finished Crow 6 weeks ago, but I still think about it all the time. To me, that is a mark of an important and great book.

4 thoughts on “Crow – By: Barbara Write

  1. I appreciate the review, Colby. I have the book, still on the TBR list, but I’ll get to it. It is interesting to view different characters approach to changes. I love Dogsong. I think not many students read Paulsen as much because the books look too skinny, but his books are deeper & for older students more than people think. Thanks!

    Like

  2. Great review! I, too, loved Crow. It is easily in my top 3 2012 books. What particularly spoke to me was the characters, yes, but also the setting. I felt like it was gutsy for Ms. Wright to set her novel in such a time and place, but her writing totally delivers on making the setting come alive. I had never heard about what happened in Wilmington, but now I want to learn more about it. She made me feel like I was there with Moses. I also admired how she wrote the story as both a powerful coming-of-age story AND a novel that depicted an important instance in history. A great book.

    Like

  3. I, too, adored this book. Boo Nanny, hands down was my favorite character, and her relationship with Moses is truly one of the best elements of this novel. I reviewed it for SLJ a few months ago, and it’s stayed with me, and I love recommending it to the young readers at my library.

    Like

  4. It’s kind of like we carry the books and the characters around with us long after we have read a book. Like they are friends. Do you ever find yourself imagining what the characters are up to right now? Sometimes, I think about the characters and wonder what they are doing. I like to imagine them in their lives after the book is over. Now that I just typed that it sounds weird…is that creepy? I love characters, too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

