5 MUST Read 2012 Middle Grade Novels/Chapter Books


My goal when I began 2012 was to read 1000 books. As of 3:19 P.M on April 22, I have read 545. I’d say that I’m off to a pretty good start. I decided to reflect on my reading and write a little bit about 20 books that stand out.

Tuesday: 5 Great Pre 2012 Reads

Wednesday: 5 Great Re-Reads

Thursday: 5 Great 2012 Reads (Picture Books/Graphic Novels)

Friday: 5 Great 2012 Reads (Middle Grade Novels and Chapter Books)


A Topps League Story: Jinxed

By: Kurtis Scaletta

Illustrated By: Eric Wight

A Topps League Story: Book One: Jinxed!

Chapter Book + Baseball + Groovy Illustrations = Awesome

I wish this Topps League series existed when I was in elementary school.


Marty McGuire Digs Worms

By: Kate Messner

Marty McGuire Digs Worms!

Sometimes I read a book and can’t wait to share it with students. Sometimes I read a book and I can’t wait to share it with my own kids. Marty McGuire fits into both of those categories. I think Kate and Brian are an amazing team, and I hope Scholastic publishes a whole slew of Marty McGuire books.


The Mighty Miss Malone

By: Christopher Paul Curtis

The Mighty Miss Malone

The Mighty Miss Malone seems like one of those books that you either love or hate. I’ve been noticing a lot of not so favorable reviews of Newbery Medal-winning author CPC’s latest novel. I’m in the LOVE category. Deza Malone is a character that I take with me everyday to school. She’s the type of girl that makes you want to be a better person, teacher, dad, citizen. I can’t get her out of my head (and I don’t want to).



By: RJ Palacio


When I had 10 pages left in Wonder I had to stop reading. I didn’t want the story to end. I placed the book on a bookshelf and tried to forget about it. No matter how hard I tried, I  couldn’t stop staring at it. Wonder was then moved from the bookshelf to the closet. I managed to wait 3 days before reading the final 10 pages. I’ll never forget reading Wonder for the first time.

I’m very excited to begin rereading Wonder as an audio book next week.


The One and Only Ivan

By: Katherine Applegate

The One and Only Ivan

I don’t believe in jinxes. I think that it is okay to talk about a no-hitter in baseball during a baseball game, and I think that it’s okay to talk about a bowler that is a few strikes away from a 300 game. However, I will not in this blog post mention any book medals (I don’t want to jinx it). What I will say is that I have never seen a book do to fourth graders, what The One and Only Ivan has done to my students.

I think that The One and Only Ivan the best third and fourth grade book in 60 years . I’m still madly in love with that 60-year-old book about a pig and a spider, and I think that if I live 60 more years that I’ll still be in love with The One and Only Ivan. I just hope that Ivan’s medal is a different color.

3 thoughts on “5 MUST Read 2012 Middle Grade Novels/Chapter Books

Leave a Reply

