Penny and Her Song by Kevin Henkes

Penny and Her Song

By: Kevin Henkes

Penny and Her Song

I’m trying to read 1000 books in 2012. My quest to reach this number is going well. As of March 8th at 5:00 A.M. I had read 595 books, which puts me 246 books ahead of schedule.

The problem with reading 595 books in five months is that at times you rush through a some books. You read them, give them a star rating, and quickly forget about them. I was in danger of forgetting Penny and Her Song.  After reading Henke’s book I gave it  3 our of 5 stars and quickly moved on to the next book. I liked the book, but I wouldn’t have put it on a list of my favorite Kevin Henkes books.

I need to give my 3 year old a big hug and a thank you for what happened next: I have fallen completely in love with Penny and her Song. Over the last two months I have read Penny and Her Song well over 100 times. We read it every single night for going on 70 days.

At times, when my children encourage me to read them the same book over and over, and I get very sick of the book. With Penny it has been different. Rereading Penny has helped me to slow down and appreciate the brilliance of this book.  Every word is perfect. I think Henkes has created a gem that both the Newbery and Caldecott committees will need to take a long hard look at.

If you haven’t read Penny and Her Song I hope you rush to your public library and check out a copy. If you have read Penny, I hope you will rush to your local independent bookstore and buy a copy.

My 3 year old daughter was more than happy to share with you her favorite book and her favorite song (we are still working on our counting).

7 thoughts on “Penny and Her Song by Kevin Henkes

  1. I love the way you described the way the repeated (and repeated) readings helped you to slow down and appreciate the intricacies of the book. I think this happens a lot, especially when adults read picture books. Thanks for sharing!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

