Good Morning, Here’s a Book!

I love recommending books to fourth graders. One of my favorite things in the world is finding the right book for the right reader. We talk books from the second my readers walk into the building in the morning until they leave at the end of the day. Most days I find a way to insert a few book recs during maths lessons, recess, and to random future students in the halls.

One of my favorite ways to recommend books to students is to place a book on their desk before they get to school in the morning. Sometimes I’ll place a note on the book, and other times when I greet them in the morning, I will let them know that a book I think is perfect for them, is waiting on their desk.

I wouldn’t say that I bat 1.000 with my morning book recommendations, but I know my readers appreciate knowing that I’m always thinking about them.

Yesterday three students walked into class and found books waiting for them on their desks.

Book 1: Book Speak!, by: Laura Purdie Salas

Book Speak! felt like a perfect recommendation for a girl in my class that is completely obsessed with books and authors.

******************************************************

Book 2: There Goes Ted Williams: The Greatest Hitter Who Ever Lived, by Matt Tavaras

I have a student that likes baseball and is completely obsessed with World War II. It almost feels like this book was written for him (it probably was).

***************************************************

Book 3: If You LIved Here: Houses of the World, by Giles Laroche

This year I have a fourth grader completely obssesed with geography and different cultures. This book is perfect for him.

One thought on “Good Morning, Here’s a Book!

Leave a Reply

