6 Sweet 2012 Sports Books

For lack of a better term I am calling these books “sports books”.

Growing up I was all about books that included sports in some way. Matt Christopher was one of my favorite authors and I read an OJ Simpson biography (pre-white Bronco) at least 50 times in fourth grade. I think that there something special about a well written sports book that can help dormant reading sports fans fall in love with reading.

I have come up with a little list of six 2012 sports books that I would have loved to read when I was a young sports fanatic.

King of the Mound: My Summer with Satchel Paige

By: Wes Tooke

King of the Mound: My Summer with Satchel Paige

 ***********************************

George Bellows: Painter With A Punch

By: Robert Burleigh

George Bellows: Painter with a Punch!

 ***********************************

There Goes Ted Williams: The Greatest Hitter Who Ever Lived

By: Matt Tavares

There Goes Ted Williams: The Greatest Hitter Who Ever Lived

 ***********************************

A Topps League Story: Jinxed!

By: Kurtis Scaletta

Illustrated By: Eric Wight

A Topps League Story: Book One: Jinxed!

 ***********************************

Guys Read: The Sports Pages

Edited By: Jon Scieszka

Guys Read: The Sports Pages

******************************

Squish 4: Captain Disaster

By: Jennifer and Matthew Holm

2 thoughts on “6 Sweet 2012 Sports Books

  1. Thanks for the great suggestions! I recently read Steal that Base by Kurtis Scaletta — what a great series. Love the illustrations, too. I can’t wait to share the series with students. Another baseball book I recently read is called Power Hitter. It’s part of the Travel Team series. Definitely for a more mature audience, but my older kids will love this series, too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

