The Newbery Challenge: The 50s

Mr. Schu and I have read every single Newbery Medal book this year from 1921-1959. I can’t believe that we are moving into the 60s. Books published in the 60s just feel less ancient that reading a book that was published in the 50s. In my opinion the Newbery books have gotten better each decade. The 50s, I felt, were a billion times better than the 40s. I can’t wait to see what the 60s have to offer.

Here are my favorites from the 50s.

My favorite Mr. Schu Video has to be his video for the book Rifles for Watie. Getting the opportunity to recieve a guided tour of his world famous library was amazing. Thanks for sharing Mr. Schu!

*********************************************************

My favorite video that I recorded in the 50s is without a doubt Carry On, Mr. Bowditch. The reason: Nerdy Book Club friends “perform” guest book talks in the video. Sharing my thoughts on Newbery books and book talking books is fun, but doing it with book loving friends is rad.

************************************************

My favorite Newbery Medal winning book of the 1950s was The Witch of Blackbird Pond. I was captivated by Elizabeth George Speare’s story. It is a book that I think kids today can fall in love with. From the mysterious witch, to the love interest, to the beach babe moving from Barbados to the Northeast region of the United States, this book has it all.

The Witch of Blackbird Pond

Leave a Reply

