Annie and Helen

Every time I get the opportunity to celebrate a great book with Mr. Schu and the Nerdy Book Club I get really excited. This weekend is one of those times. Be sure to check out Mr. Schu’s interview with author Deborah Hopkinson on his blog today, and check out the Nerdy Book Club tomorrow for Deborah’s post.

Annie and Helen

Annie and Helen

By: Deborah Hopkinson & Raul Colon

I am always amazed by people in the world whose life story stands the test of time. It is crazy interesting to me that some Historical figures captivate kids year after year. Helen Keller is one of those historical figures. It doesn’t matter the year, my fourth graders are always interested in learning about Helen.

I am sure that when my students walk into fourth grade next week that they will be drawn to Annie and Helen. Some sort of story telling force will pull them towards this beautiful book. What they find, I am very confident, they will like.

Annie and Helen stands out to me because of the excerpts it contains letters Annie Sullivan send to her friend and former teacher at the Perkins Institution for the Blind, Mrs. Sophia C. Hopkins. These letters added a layer to Helen’s story that I found myself fascinated with. I felt that author Deborah Hopkinson did a great job of weaving the letter excerpts together with her story telling.

I feel like I’m always looking for the next great an unique nonfiction picture book. I may have found it in Annie and Helen. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.

Happy reading!

In stores September 11, 2012

September 1st:  Watch. Connect. Read

September 1st:   SharpRead

September 2nd: Nerdy Book Club

September 3rdBakers and Astronauts

September 4th: Two Writing Teachers  

September 5th: Cracking the Cover  

September 6thTeach Mentor Texts  

September 7th: Nonfiction Detectives

September 8th: Booking Mama

September 9thChildren’s Book Review  

September 10thRandom Acts of Reading

September 11th7 Impossible Things Before Breakfast

One thought on “Annie and Helen

Leave a Reply

