Books and More

I am a big fan of teacher/librarian John Schu. Over the last year I have seen Mr. Schu’s relentless support of his local independent bookstore, Anderson’s Bookshop. If you know Mr. Schu, you know that Anderson’s is one of his favorite places in the whole entire wold.

I have decided to try and be more like Mr. Schu by supporting my local independent bookstore, Books and More. Jennifer Holm is visiting my school today. I could have taken the easy way out and ordered all the books for her visit from Barnes & Noble. That would have been the easy thing to do, but instead I did the Mr. Schu thing. I purchased the books for Jenni’s visit at my local Indie, and I am so glad that I did. Not only did I get to use  the local economy, I also got to have a great conversation with the owner of the bookstore. Last night when I picked up the last set of books we talked about: Wonder, The One and Only Ivan, and the children’s literature  course she took 30+ years ago.

The next time you host an author, or even the next time you need a new book, I hope you get a chance to do it at a local independent bookstore.

7 thoughts on “Books and More

  1. Colby,
    Couldn’t agree more … John Schu’s blog has made me change from “buy with one click” shopping to visiting my local bookstore. Just last night I was having this conversation with a local bookstore owner. So lucky to have it!

    Like

  2. I started partnering with my Indie at @trkravtin’s recommendation. Monkey See, Monkey do has been amazing and has partnered with me for author Skypes and big orders of books and discount offers. @kimkrug is the bomb.

    Like

Leave a Reply

