Newbery Interview: Katherine Sokolowski

Since January 1, 2012 I have read every Newbery Medal winning book from 1922-1974. Over the course of the last ten months I have developed a bit of an obsession with the award. I’ve been thinking a lot about what the award mean to me, and lately I have been wondering a lot about what the award means to others. I decided that I would interview anyone interested about their thoughts on the Newbery Medal. I’m excited to see what people think!

This week I interview teaching superstar Katherine Sokolowski. Be sure to visit her blog by clicking on the image below.

My words in the interview will appear in red, Katherine’s in black.

What is your favorite Newbery Medal winning book?

Bridge to Terabithia

What do you love about Bridge to Terabithia?

This was really hard, I went with my favorite Newbery from when I was a kid. (I’ve since fallen in love with many others) I remember reading this in my fifth grade reading classroom (the classroom I now teach in) and it was raining outside. Jess and Leslie would go to Terabithia and I felt like I was there with them. When the unthinkable happens at the end of the book, I felt like my heart broke in two. Hearing my teacher call for us to stop reading was one of my first clear memories of being “inside” a book. I had forgotten where I was.

What is your earliest memory of the Newbery Medal?

I knew that it was a big award when I was in school because several books had those shiny seals on the front, but no one ever talked to us about it. It was more as an adult and teacher that I really started thinking about the Newbery.

The Newbery Medal isΒ the award for the most distinguished book in children’s literature in a previous year. I think the Newbery is important because it brings attention to children’s books and ensures they are still talked about several years after they’ve been published. (sometimes for good reasons, sometimes to say – why did this win?) πŸ™‚

Katherine SokolowskiΒ has taught for fourteen years and currently teaches fifth grade. She is passionate about reading both in her classroom and also with her two sons. When not recommending books to strangers in the library or the bookstore, Katherine can be found writing at her blog:http://readwriteandreflect.blogspot.com/. You can find her on Twitter as @katsok.

 

One thought on “Newbery Interview: Katherine Sokolowski

  1. Nice to see Katherine here! I am trying to set up a “reading toward Newbery” group at school, hoping to get some students reading with me for fun, and to see if we can predict the winner. Bridge to Terabithia continues to be popular. Thanks Colby & Katherine!

    Like

Leave a Reply

