The Newbery Challenge: The 1960s.

20s: done

30s: done

40s: done

50s: done

60s: DONE

I cannot believe that Mr. Johnny Schu and I have now finished off our sixth decade of the Newbery Challenge. It seems like it was just yesterday when we finished the sixth book in the challenge,  Mr. Schu’s favorite: Smoky The Cowhorse (just kidding).

I think that the 60s are my favorite decade up this point. Actually, I think that each decade that we have read has been a little better than the one before it. I’m hoping that means great things for our reading of the books of the 70s.

My ratings of the 70s books:

Yay! Zero one star books.

Up a Road Slowly

Island of the Blue Dolphins

The Bronze Bow

A Wrinkle in Time

I, Juan De Pareja

Onion John

The High King

It’s Like This, Cat

Shadow of a Bull

From The Mixed Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler

*************

AVERAGE RATING: 3.4

2 thoughts on “The Newbery Challenge: The 1960s.

  1. Mixed Up Files is the first chapter book I read as a child that HOOKED me as a more advanced reader. I try everyday to find books that will stick with my students like that! I wish I had time to read all of these books, but it sure is fun to read about you both reading all of these award winners! Thanks!!

    Like

  2. Colby, your posts on #nerdbery inspire me to keep me going. I’ve been reading them in a different order, but tackling Smoky now. It’s been fun to go back & watch your videos. Thanks for sharing your journey!

    Like

Leave a Reply

