Guys Read: The Sports Pages

Usually the first thing on my mind after I read a book for kids is: what kids could I give this book to? That thought was the second thing on my mind after reading Guys Read: The Sports Pages edited by Jon Scieszka. The first thing on my mind was: where were books like this when I was ten? From the ages of 6-18 my favorite things to read were the sports page and Sports Illustrated. I started with Sports Illustrated for Kids and moved to Sports Illustrated in sixth grade. I would have been thrilled to have a book like The Sports Pages when I was a kid.

Guys Read: The Sports Pages is a collection of short pieces of both fiction and nonfiction, centered around the sports world that many of our young readers (ladies, too) can’t get enough of. One of the things that I love most about this book is the wide range of writers authors: sports anchors, professional athletes, kid lit authors.

Guys Read: The Sports Pages isn’t the type of book that after you hand it to students to read, they turn it in where books are turned into when kids are done reading them. When my students finish The Sports Pages they hand the book back to me. They hand it directly to me because they want to talk to me about it. They want to know my favorite story (How I Won the World Series), and they want to share their favorite parts.

If you are looking for a great book book on sports (aren’t we always?) be sure to add Guys Read: The Sports Pages to your collection. I’m pretty sure your students will be as excited about it as mine.

Leave a Reply

