Just What I Needed

This is the time of the year when I really start to feel like a crummy teacher. I think about all of the things that we haven’t gotten done and how some of my students are not where I’d like them to be. Winter break is staring at me and I see December 21 as a mini Doomsday. It is coming and I have no hope of getting all the things done that I had envisioned when school started in September.

A little dramatic? Yes. How I’m feeling? For sure.

On a day where I needed something wonderful to happen, something to show me that we are doing great things in our little classroom, something amazing happened. I was sitting-talking with a student on the carpet about the Matt Christopher book that he was reading (I love when kids read books that I read 20+ years ago), when I looked across the room and I saw a girl sobbing behind the pages of Shiloh. After my conference I checked in with her real quick and subtle to see if she needed me. She let me know that she was going to be okay. I left to confer with another student. When I was talking with a girl about The Secret Tree, I noticed that another student had sat next to my Shiloh reader bringing with her a box of Kleenex. The girl with the Kleenex is the same girl who book talked Shiloh a couple of weeks ago.

As I was watching this young reader support her classmate, at a time when she needed her the most, I couldn’t help but think to myself that at the end of the day, the week, the season, or the school year the thing that matters most is that I helped support a community of passionate and caring readers.

7 thoughts on “Just What I Needed

  1. This is awesome, Colby. I feel the same way sometimes, and those little moments sure make a difference. Just this week, I “scolded” some students for talking during an independent work time, and they quipped right back “Mrs. Beaton, we’re just book-talking The Fault in Our Stars!” Who could blame them for that? 😉

    Like

  2. Glad to know I’m not alone with this feeling at the start of December. You are completely correct – your students demonstrated exactly what you have taught them this year. Awesome scene. 🙂

    Like

  3. Colby, this is an amazing post. You have pretty amazing things going on in your classroom – kids book talking books, kids supporting each other as readers and as people, and a kind teacher who knows when to sit awhile and when to just check in. You’ve done well, Mr. Sharp. Happy New Year!

    Like

Leave a Reply

