Newbery Interview: Tammy Langeberg

We are a little over a month away from the announcement of the 2013 Newbery Medal. Are you excited? As we inch closer to the big day, I am continuing to fall deeper and deeper in love with this amazing award. I am really enjoying learing what people think of the medal as I do these Newbery interviews. Up today is Tammy Langeberg.

My questions will appear in red,Tammy’s answers in black.

What is your favorite Newbery Medal winning book?

When You Reach Me

By: Rebecca Stead

What do you love about When You Reach Me?

I love the storyline and how it is interwoven with a previous Newbery winner, A Wrinkle in Time.

What is your earliest memory of the Newbery Medal?

I read Island of the Blue Dolphins in 5th grade.  As a kid from the Colorado suburbs, I was facinated with the life of a young girl so different from mine.  Getting to experience what Karana did to survive on her own has stuck with me.  I always recommend this book to students at my school.

The Newbery Medal is..the optimal recommendatation list!

Tammy Langeberg’s love of books started at a young age reading lots of books and playing librarian.  She has been a teacher for 25 years in Jefferson County, Colorado, 14 of those as a teacher librarian.  Her constant goal is to match children with the right books and support student learning in any way she can. 

********************************************

If you’d like to be featured in my Newbery Interview series please fill out the form in the link below.

https://sharpread.wordpress.com/2012/10/18/what-does-the-newbery-medal-mean-to-you/

2 thoughts on “Newbery Interview: Tammy Langeberg

Leave a Reply

