1006 + 1007 = 2013

I love setting goals for myself at the start of the year. Last year I set out to read 1000 books and I am proud to say that I read more than 1100 books in 2012. This year I am combining my reading goal with a fitness goal. My  goal is to read 1007 book and run 1006 miles in 2013. I might end up running 1007 and reading 1006, we’ll see how it goes. I am just hoping that by the end of the year the sum of my reading and running totals add up to equal at least 2013.

I am planning on doing a quick post at the end of each month to document my progress. I’m sure that I’ll have ups and downs with both reading and running, but I am confident that barring injury I’ll be able to reach my goal.

In order to accomplish my goals I need to average just under 20 miles and books a week.

What goals are you setting for yourself in 2013?

11 thoughts on “1006 + 1007 = 2013

  1. Oh I love the running goal! I’ve been keeping a running log for the past few months now, and I could see where I’ve gotten behind. I started off the year right yesterday with a 35 minute run, but decided to forego again today. My personal goal is to run at least four times a week. We see how that one goes. 🙂

    Like

  2. Your goals have a nice mathematical-ness to them. I can’t make mine add up to 2013, but you got me thinking about setting a swimming goal that ties in with my reading goal. So I upped my reading goal to 275 books (pale, compared to your 1000+, but it’s not a contest…) and my swimming goal to 75 miles (+/- 1.5 miles every week for the year). #swimteacherswim

    Like

  3. I run about 1250 miles a year, but ain’t no way I’ll ever read 763 books (I only read MG and YA). It would be a miracle if I finished 76.3! That puts us in the year 1326. Which means the treaty of Novgorod is being drafted to define the border between Russia and Norway in Finnmark, as we speak.

    Like

  4. Great goals! Fitness wise, I plan on going to spin class 3 times a week and get back to running (I took half last year off due to injuries). Reading wise, read outside my comfort genres and read more MG titles since that’s what I order. Last year I read 243 so I’m hoping to step it up this year.

    Can’t wait to follow your progress!

    Like

Leave a Reply

