I Haiku You By: Betsy Snyder

I am very excited to be celebrating I Haiku You today with Mr. Johnny Schu and Nerdy Book Club. Be sure to check out Mr. Schu’s interview and Betsy’s guest post on Nerdy.

interview

nerdy
I HAIKU YOU_COVER

This is my sixth year teaching fourth grade. I have come to understand a few thing about fourth graders. The following is a list of things that every single fourth grade class I have taught has loved:

1. Picture Books

2. Being read aloud to

3. Anne Frank

4. Discussing segregation

5. Quick writes

6. Choosing their own reading material

7. Haiku poetry

8. Holiday parties

Betsy Snyder’s I Haiku You fills numbers 1,2,7, and 8 on my list perfectly. Betsy’s poems about affection and appreciation, coupled with her beautiful illustrations, make I Haiku You a must for any elementary classroom.

I HAIKU YOU_SMORES

What I love the most about I Haiku You is that everyone that I have shared it with loves it. EVERYONE. My 2,4, and 6-year-old love it, my fourth graders love it, and even my wife thinks it is awesome. I have a lot of books lying around the house, and usually by wife does her best to ignore them, but I Haiku You was a book that she couldn’t resist. She picked it up off the microwave (I know. Not a great place for a book.) and read it with a smile on her face.

Whether your Valentine is a toddler, an elementary aged kid, or your spouse I Haiku You is the perfect book to share with them this Valentine’s Day.

I HAIKU YOU_PBJ

2 thoughts on “I Haiku You By: Betsy Snyder

Leave a Reply

