Newbery Challenge: Dicey’s Song

I loved Dicey’s Song. If you haven’t read this Newbery Medal winning book I think you should think about checking out. You dont’ have to take my word for it. Check out what Mr. Schu has to say about the book: Watch.Connect.Read.

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “Newbery Challenge: Dicey’s Song

  1. This entire series is a good one for readers who love Dicey’s Song, Colby. They can go back & read the beginning of Dicey’s challenges in Homecoming, then watch other characters take the lead, & watch her grow up in other books. Glad you liked this one!

    Like

  2. I’m so glad that Mr. Shu and you loved Dicey’s Song. I urge you to read Homecoming, the first book in the series, which I love and is one of my all time favorites.

    I view Dicey as a true hero. Not one with superpowers or magic who has to save the world but one who is in an impossible situation but who doesn’t give up and takes care of not only herself but her brothers and sisters. How can you expect a 13-year-old to hold all that responsibility? But she does. Their journey is amazing and so fraught with peril (though that may be mitigated for you since you’ve read the second book).

    This book is great for readers that like character driven novels and those that like suspense and peril.

    Like

  3. One spring break when I was new to town and had no friends and nowhere to go, I spent the entire week just sitting in my rocker and reading. This was one of the books from that week. Good memories.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s