Killer Koalas From Outer Space By: Andy Griffiths

Killer Koalas from Outer Space and Lots of Other Very Bad Stuff that Will Make Your Brain Explode!

I am getting very excited about moderating a panel on humor writing at the International Reading Convention next month in San Antonio. Since I found out about the panel I have thrown myself into the work of the authors that are a part of the session.

I’ve come to find out that author Andy Griffith is a combination of students that I have had in my classroom over the years. You know the students that are always drawing funny comics and silly poems. Kids that are writing things that they think I’ll be mad if I see. Stuff that others may seem inappropriate  Content that they slide into a book when I get close.

I love these kids and I am falling in love with the work of Andy Griffiths.

Killer Koalas From Outer Space and Lots of Other Very Bad Stuff that Will Make Your Brain Explode! is marvelously funny. It is very rare that I actually laugh out loud when I read a book, but I found myself doing this over and over as I moved through the ridiculously funny pages of this book.

Is this book disgusting? Yes.

Inappropriate? At times.

Should a teacher read it before putting it on their shelves? Absolutely.

Will kids like it? It will never be on the shelves.

How will kids respond? They will feel validated, and I have a feeling that Killer Koalas will turn into one of the most used mentor texts in your classroom.

If you are looking for something completely over the top funny be sure to give Killer Koalas a read.

2 thoughts on “Killer Koalas From Outer Space By: Andy Griffiths

  1. I bought the book when it came out (the title was so intriguing and I love the author’s other works). You are correct– it is never in my class library. I did pre read it during snippets of snactime. The kids were dying to read the book that kept making me laugh and gasp.

    Like

Leave a Reply

