ART2-D2’s Guide to Folding and Doodling by Tom Angleberger

Art2-D2's Guide to Folding and Doodling: An Origami Yoda Activity Book

It is Sunday morning, and I have to go back to school tomorrow. I’ve spend a wonderful spring break week with my family. I don’t really have much time to blog, but I wanted to spend a few minutes reflecting on Tom Angleberger’s ART2-D2.

Last night before bed I sat down with ART2-D2. Wow! I was blown away by this book that Angleberger had created for past, present, and future Superfolders. If you haven’t had the chance to see Angleberger interact with his Superfolders on his website you must check it out. Tom’s love and devotion for his fans should be something that all authors and illustrators get a chance to see.

Back to the book. I had no idea that Tom was going to create ART2-D2 as a case file like the ones we see in the other Origami Yoda books. Not only did he manage to create a case file, but he did it in a way that feels real and natural. Not once did I think about how difficult it must have been for Tom to create this case file. The whole time reading this book it felt, to me, like the characters at Ralph McQuarrie Middle School were creating a book together.

I could go on and on all day about the awesomeness of ART2-D2, but I won’t. Instead I’m going to publish this post, open ART2-D2 back up, and get to doodling.

5 thoughts on “ART2-D2’s Guide to Folding and Doodling by Tom Angleberger

  1. That is awesome! We are thrilled Tom is coming to #CCIRA14 next February. His Darth Paper Strikes Back won the Colorado Children’s Book Award for 2013! Can’t wait to read ART2-D2.

    Like

Leave a Reply

