IRA Humor Panel: Michael Buckley

On April 20th at the International Reading Convention, I am moderating a panel titled: The Serious Business of Writing Humor. I could not be more nervous excited. My favorite part of outlining this session has been studying the authors and reading and rereading their books.

I’m going to write a quick blog post for each of the authors on the panel between now and next Friday. Nothing fancy, just some resources that I’ve found while studying them.

First up we have Michael Buckley. I saw Michael speak at Anderson’s Bookshop back in 2011, and I loved hearing what he had to say.

While preparing for the panel I  had a blast reading The Sisters Grimm, #1 and N.E.R.D.S., #1.

Earlier in the year I read my fourth graders his picture book Kel Gilligan’s Daredevil Stunt Show and they giant fans. I wanted to see that younger readers thought of the book, so I read it to a classroom of first graders a couple of days ago. They went bananas. It was so much fun.

resources

Love this video of Buckley speaking at the 2011 National Book Festival.

Michael Buckley Talks NERDS

Spend some time on The Sisters Grimm site and the NERDS site.

NERDS Book 2: M is for Mama’s Boy

The Sisters Grimm Book Series Trailer

Time To Play reviews Kel Gilligan’s Daredevil Stunt Show

Please check back Wednesday for my post on Laurie Keller.

 

Leave a Reply

