Trifecta: Inside Outside

inside outside cover

I am super excited to celebrate Lizi Boyd’s beautiful wordless picture book Inside Outside today with Mr. Johnny Schu and Nerdy Book Club.

Be sure to click on the images below to see how Nerdy Book Club and Mr. Schu are celebrating  Inside Outside.

schu interview

lizi

I don’t think that it is any secret that Mr. Schu is a big fan of wordless picture books, so I decided that for my portion of the trifecta I’d ask him a few questions about Inside Outside and wordless picture books.

Inside Outside_Int 1

Mr. Schu’s words will appear in red. Mine will continue to appear in black:)

Hello, Mr. Schu! In three short sentences can you tell me three reasons why you love Inside Outside by Lizi Boyd

Thanks for asking, Mr. Sharp. As you know, I am a huge fan of wordless picture books. I share them with my students regularly.

Here are three reasons (in no particular order) that I love Inside Outside:

 1. This might sound strange, but I love the texture of the paper. It is the first thing I noticed when I opened the book.

2. Inside Outside wowed my third graders. The die-cuts allowed them to make interesting and thoughtful predictions.  

3. The illustrations, of course. Just look at them!  Mr. Sharp, don’t they make you smile, laugh, and send Lizi Boyd a mental thank-you note for creating a delightful wordless picture book?

They do make me smile, laugh and send Lizi Boyd a mental thank-you note. *sends mental thank-you note*

Inside Outside_Int 2

Why do you think that it is important for librarians/teachers to share wordless picture books with upper elementary and even middle school students?

I think everyone should “read” wordless picture books and picture books with many words.  Wordless picture books give the reader power. A first grader can use Lizi Boyd’s illustrations to tell his own story. His story will likely include a different set of nouns, adjectives, verbs, and details from his classmates. I think wordless books give my students the confidence to become storytellers, help them practice comprehension skills, and make them more thoughtful readers.

Inside Outside_Int 3

What are three wordless picture books that you saw kids reading in your library this week?

Flora and the Flamingo by Molly Idle 

 

2. Flotsam by David Wiesner 

 

3. A Ball for Daisy by Chris Raschka 

 

4. Chalk by Bill Thomson.  

Sorry, I had to share a fourth book.

That’s okay, Mr. Schu. The more books shared, the better.

Thanks for stopping by Mr. Schu. I can’t wait to visit your blog and check out your interview with Lizi Boys.

Inside Outside_Int 4

 

One thought on “Trifecta: Inside Outside

Leave a Reply

