Platypus Police Squad: The Frog Who Croaked by Jarrett J. Krosoczka

All artwork that appear in this post are copyright © 2013 by Jarrett J. Krosoczka

I’ve gone back and forth on how I’d like to celebrate Jarrett J. Krosoczka’s Platypus Police Squad. I’ve thought about discussing how I think Jarrett is becoming the face of all things that are great about children’s literature. I considered talking about how masterfully Jarrett has transitioned from picture books to graphic novels to a beautiful middle grade novel.

In the end I’ve decided that I just want to talk about how I think  Platypus Police Squad is like a kids version of Law & Order.

Note: Law & Order was my FAVORITE television show when I was in high school.

Without further ado, I give you five reasons why Platypus Police Squad is like Law & Order.

1. The detectives in Platypus Police Squad don’t carry guns, they carry boomerangs (I think this is brilliant).

Vday - 2013 075

2. In Law & Order it always seemed like they main characters were a young cop and a veteran cop. We have the same model in Platypus Police Squad with characters Rick Zengo and Corey O’Malley.

Vday - 2013 096

3. Say No to Drugs Illegal Fish! I loved that the issue in The Frog That Croaked centered on the trade of illegal fish.

Vday - 2013 014

4. The police chief. I was always a fan, when watching Law & Order of how the officers interacted with the police chief. I absolutely loved reading the scenes when Rick Zengo and Corey O’Malley interacted with the police chief.

Vday - 2013 100

5. Crime Doesn’t Pay. I learned from watching Law & Order as a did that it isn’t a good idea to mess with the NYPD. I got the a similar vibe from reading Platypus Police Squad: Don’t mess with these officers from Kalamazoo.

Vday - 2013 013

Be sure to check out JJK’s Platypus Police Squad next time you visit your local independent bookshop. 

 

Leave a Reply

