The Story of Fish & Snail by Deborah Freedman

The Story of Fish and Snail

Confession: I really have no idea what I’m doing when it comes to doing these little write ups for picture books. I’m not an expert when it comes to analyzing art. Heck, most of the time I don’t even know what to call the type of art is in the book.

9780670784899_Fish&Snail_INTfin

What I do know is what my fourth graders will like. I usually know what picture books will mesmerize them. The Story of Fish & Snail by Deborah Freedman is a picture book that my fourth graders will love.

I picture my students huddled around me on the carpet as  I begin Ms. Freedman’s latest masterpiece. It is one of those books that as  I read it they will inch closer and closer to me. By the time  I finish reading The Story of Fish & Snail in the fall, I fully expect my students to be sitting so close that they are almost on top of me.

9780670784899_Fish&Snail_INTfin2

One of the things that I love the most about The Story of Fish & Snail is that it feels three-dimensional. In a world of 3D movies, HDTV, and video games with amazing graphics, a picture book really needs to “pop” if it is going to stand out. The Story of Fish & Snail “pops”. When reading this book I find myself tilting, twisting, and rotating the book as I admire the illustrations from different angles. At times I feel that Fish and Snail are going to leap from the page to my lap. Thankfully, that hasn’t happened…yet.

9780670784899_Fish&Snail_INTfin3

If you are looking for a great picture book about friendship, overcoming fears, and the power of a great story be sure to give The Story of Fish & Snail a read.

3 thoughts on “The Story of Fish & Snail by Deborah Freedman

  1. I read and loved this book also. I think the themes of friendship and courage and taking a chance will definitely resonate with fourth graders. Thanks for sharing your very nice review.

    Like

  2. I can’t wait to read this one. The artwork is fabulous. And I’m glad you said that about not knowing what kind of art is in picture books. I feel the same way. I just know whether I like it and or not, and if kids will like it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

