10 Minute Review: Chick-O-Saurus Rex by Lenore & Daniel Jennewein

Chick-o-Saurus-Rex-234x300

My favorite part about doing 10 minute reviews is that I have no idea where they will lead me. I could go in many different directions when chatting about Chick-O-Saurus Rex, but as I enter minute 2 of 10 I have no idea how I’m going to use the rest of my minutes to convince you that this is a pretty rad book.

Here goes.

Do you kids read author’s notes? After they finish a book do they hang on every word the author places in their note? If your kids/students are anything like my kids/students, chances are they blow off the author’s note. Well, never fear, Chick-O-Saurus Rex can help change that.

My 6 YO son read Chick-O-Saurus Rex a couple of hours before I started writing this review. He thought it was a pretty cool book. I asked him if he had read the author’s note. He looked at me dumbfounded. I encouraged him to read what Lenore and Daniel had to say at the end of the book. He reluctantly agreed. The author’s note blew him away. He immediately went back and reread the book, and our conversations around the book continued for the rest of the night.

Are you wondering what magic the one paragraph author’s note contains? If so, be sure to check out Chick-O-Saurus Rex.

9 minutes 31 seconds

Lenore’s and Daniel’s Tour Stops

Lenore and Daniel Jennewein

Monday, August 12th: Youth Lit Reviews

Tuesday, August 13th: SharpRead

Wednesday, August 14th: There’s a Book

Wednesday, August 14th: Flowering Minds

Thursday, August 15th: Read Now Sleep Later

Friday, August 16th: Storytime Books

Monday, August 19th: Good Reads with Ronna

Tuesday, August 20th: Geo Librarian

Wednesday, August 21st: Teresa’s Reading Corner

Friday, August 23rd: Picture Books Help Kids Soar

Wednesday, August 28th: Growing Book By Book

TBD: Reading Rumpus

TBD: Blogcritics

tlc logo

2 thoughts on “10 Minute Review: Chick-O-Saurus Rex by Lenore & Daniel Jennewein

  1. I LOVE that your son read and enjoyed the author’s note! I always read them in every book.

    Thanks so much for being a part of the tour. I’m glad your son is a fan of the book and that the two of you are continuing the conversation.

    Like

Leave a Reply

