10 Minute Review: The Surprise Attack of Jabba The Puppett by Tom Angleberger

jabba

I have two Tom Angleberger confessions to make.

1. I have to Google his name or look at the cover to one of his books every single time I type his name in a blog post or tweet (which is a lot). For some reason I always want to spell it A-N-G-E-L-B-E-R-G-E-R.

2. I am always worried that I won’t like the next book he publishes.

I am sure we all feel that way sometimes about our favorite authors. I lost sleep before reading Kirby Larson’s Hattie Ever After, and I always get a little nervous before reading a new Jennifer Holm graphic novel. We hold our favorite authors up on this pedestal that is built by the books that caused us to fall in love with their writing.

My Tom Angleberger pedestal is getting pretty large. I have been such a big fan of the first FOUR Origami Yoda books (Yes, I include ART 2 D2’s Guide to Folding and Drawing with the first three novels) that picking up The Surprise Attack of Jabba the Puppett was terrifying. What if I didn’t like it? What if it was so bad that it tainted the rest of the series? I don’t mean to say that I don’t have faith in Angleberger’s writing, it is just that my love for his previous work has caused me to hold his new work to such a high standard.

I am happy to say that in The Surprise Attack of Jabba the Puppett Tom Angleberger continues the magic that we fell in love with throughout the first four books. This new books takes us down a path that cause a lot of  students and teachers to stand up and cheer.

Way to go, Mr. A-N-G-L-E-B-E-R-G-E-R.

3 thoughts on “10 Minute Review: The Surprise Attack of Jabba The Puppett by Tom Angleberger

  1. Mr. Colby S-h-a-r-p, I hope you realize what an easy name you have! My last name is a 14 letter, misspelled, & mispronounced name! My maiden name wasn’t much better.

    Like

Leave a Reply

