Slice of Life: A Reader in Me

Slice of Life (1)

Yesterday was my first day of PD in my new district. It was exhausting. My new school is a Leader in Me school, so our PD was centered around reviewing what the team learned last year – and taking things to the next level. Since I missed all of the Leader in Me training that my staff did last year I have been feeling behind. Feeling behind makes me feel overwhelmed and stressed. After yesterday’s PD I am feeling much better about things. I still have a lot to learn, but I feel that I am now at least know where to get the answers I need.

To start of yesterday’s meeting my new principal gave a little introduction before introducing out speaker. The thing that made me super duper excited about the start of the day, was that both my new principal and the speaker mentioned something that they had recently read within the first two minutes of talking. This is the kind of modeling that our students must see time and time again. I teach in a Leader in Me School, and (in my opinion) for a school to believe that leadership is important they must also believe that reading is important.

I believe that Charles Jones said it best:

“Five years from today, you will be the same person that you are today, except for the books you read and the people you meet.”

I believe that quote to be so true, and I live my life by it. The teacher that I am today is because of the wonderful people that I have walked this journey beside me and because of the books that have helped shape me.

As I head into the next stage in my teaching career I’m excited that I’m surrounded by readers. Because Readers ARE Leaders:)

11 thoughts on “Slice of Life: A Reader in Me

  1. My school just started the Leader in Me process this year. We had three intensive days of training in the 7 Habits the week before the kids came. Exhausting and overwhelming, for sure, but also I felt a sense of hope for our school. We have been struggling to be a successful school for years and this year we have 2/3 new administrators in addition to LiM. For me, the most hopeful sign is that our new principal was a literacy coach and is prepared to lead us in becoming better teachers of reading. Thanks for sharing your story and articulating many of the things I feel about learning. Keep on being a Reader Leader!

    Like

  2. I’ve never heard of Leader in Me but I’m going to check it out. So awesome that they talked about books. Change isn’t easy but at least you have a little while to ask people for their patience since you are new to the building. I have a feeling you have lots to share and that people will be learning with you as much as you are with them. 🙂

    Like

  3. Love the quote and the positivity of your post. Although the stress of learning new initiatives reminds me of the past decade and a bit of training days post summer. This new academic year sees me stepping back into role as a supply teacher (subs) and I am glad that my head can carry the children and learning and not have to boggle with everything else teacher’s over here have to take on board. Good luck for your new chapter – keep reading! 🙂

    Like

  4. Beautifully said Colby! I know you will knock their socks off there and wherever you go. Students, teachers, librarians and even “volunteers” all over the country are changed because of meeting you and your energy.

    Like

  5. Okay…I will have to research a ‘leader in me school’ did your school make it up??? You are definitely a leader in so many areas…tech…books. I know that they will love having you around. xo

    Like

Leave a Reply

