Interview: Kate Messner

SeaMonsterBossyFish_Tour_Banner

I am super excited to interview Kate Messner today on sharpread. If someone were to rank the Kate Messner fans in order of how much they LOVE Kate, I would be at the very top of the list. Yup, I’m her #1 fan:)

Sea Monster and The Bossy Fish_FC_hires

This a 5,4,3,2,1 Interview.

Here are the rules:

1. I give the interviewee 5 questions

2. They have to answer

1 question with 5 sentences

1 question with 4 sentences

1 question with 3 sentences

1 question with 2 sentences

1 question with 1 sentence

3.  They get to pick which question which question to answer with each number of sentences

4. Have fun!

Interview

1. Can you tell us a little bit about Sea Monster and the Bossy Fish?

Sea Monster and the Bossy Fish is a funny book, but I hope it’s also one that will get kids thinking and talking about how they treat one another and how they react when someone is being treated unfairly. Through the bossy new fish at Ernest’s school, this book introduces some ideas for what kids can do when people (or fish) aren’t being treated fairly.

2. What is your favorite thing about being a writer?

I actually have three favorite things – research, revision, and readers.  I love research because I will never ever get tired of going new places and learning new things.  I love revision because (confession time) when I’m drafting I often feel adrift and kind of lost. It’s in the revising that I start to feel like a real writer. But I love meeting and talking with readers most of all, because they’re the reason I write.

3. What’s the hardest thing about being a writer?

Letting go of a book is always hard for me. That moment of finishing is so bittersweet. I’m so excited for readers to enter the world I created, but at the same time, I know that the book will never belong to just me again.

4. If you could spend one day inside the world of any book which book would you pick?

That’s the easiest question ever – any of the Harry Potter books!

5. What advice do you have for the young writers in my classroom?

Read zillions of books. Read like writers, paying attention to what you love and how the author did it. Then make time to write your own stories and poems and narratives and whatever else you love to write. Your voice matters.

 ****************************************************

During the first week of school, next week, my students are going to take the “Friend Fish” pledge after we read Sea Monster and the Bossy Fish. Click the image below to print the pledge for your students.

Sea Monster and The Bossy Fish_Fish Friends Pledge

Thank for stopping by, Mrs. Messner! Kate Messner

Chronicle Books has offered to give away a copy of Sea Monster and the Bossy Fish. How cool is that? Just fill out the form below (by September 3 at 11:59 PM) and I’ll draw a random winner.

Rules for the giveaway:

Must be 13 or older

Must have U.S. mailing address

4 thoughts on “Interview: Kate Messner

  1. Great interview, Colby! Thank you, Kate 🙂 I really loved your answers, and you were actually able to follow Colby’s “sentence” rules!

    Chronicle puts out some great books, and this is one of them 😀

    Like

  2. I’m going to put this interview up next to the Global Read Aloud display and/or read the interview to my 3rd graders! Thanks for asking, Colby, and thanks for answering, Kate! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

