10 Things I think I think

I don’t get a chance to read as much about sports as I use to. Most of my screen time is spent centered around teaching and children’s literature. I do however manage to read everything that columnist Peter King writes. One of my favorite posts that he writes are his “10 Things I Think I Think” posts. In these posts he does a nice quick run down of 10 things on his mind. I’m going to try and do one of these posts centered around the next 12 months of teaching and kid lit.

Here we go…

1. I am going to love third grade

As I switch schools and switch grades I am feeling terrified of teaching younger students. The last 6 years of my life was spent with fourth graders. Thinking about teaching kids a whole year younger stresses me out. I have lost a tremendous amount of sleep the last month and a half worrying about whether or not I can do a great job of teaching these little peanuts.

This time next year, I am confident that I will love third grade. *fingers crossed*

2. The Michigan Reading Association Annual Conference is going to rock

The conference is alway a ton of fun, but I have some tricks up my sleeve for this year’s conference that are going to make it extra awesome for my Nerdy Book Club friends.

Stay tuned.

3. I will be happy and sad when the Newbery Medal is announced

I spend way too much of my life stressed out about the Newbery medal (see video below). When the award is announced at the end of January I am sure that I will be happy with some of the selections and disappointed with some. The bottom line is that the award is not about me. It is not about the committee members, and it is not about the authors. In my heart, the medal is about the readers. If at any point we make it about anything else the award will seise to matter.

4. Be Brave is becoming a movement

If you didn’t get a chance to read Matt Gomez’s BE BRAVE post you need to do it right this second. I feel that this concept fits right up there with CHOOSE KIND as a way that we help our students find this world we all share is a pretty darn good one.

5. Wordless Caldecott

I feel like 2013 might be remembered as the year of the wordless picture books. I’m not sure which wordless book is your favorite, but I have a feeling that at least one of them will get some mad Caldecott love.

6. It is Peter Brown’s world-we are all just living in it

I think this one speaks for itself. Peter Brown was welcomed to the party with his Caldecott Honor for Creepy Carrots. I think he takes things to the whole next level with Mr. Tiger Goes Wild. Mr. Brown needs to make some room on his trophy case.

7. Teaching with my kids is going to rock

I still cannot believe that I am teaching in the same building that my kids go to school. Of all the things on my list, this one is the one that I am the most sure of.

8 Counting By 7s is legit

I’m sure that people will criticize this one for something. BLAH! I am not going to go down that road because I might get myself in trouble.

I think that Counting By 7s is the perfect read aloud for kids that were read Wonder last year. This book will speak to so many young readers, and Willow Chance will steal all of our hearts.

Counting by 7s

9. The Red Carpet gets an upgrade

I loved almost everything about ALA Annual. It was a magical conference, and the Newbery-Caldecott Banquet was electric. The only thing that I didn’t like was the way the red carpet was done. It felt very Hollywood and elitist. I am guessing that librarians don’t want that at their conference.

Next year I expect to see an open microphone where all librarians get a chance to share their excitement during the biggest night in children’s literature.

10. The Detroit Tigers will win the World Series

I was 3 when they won it last. It is time.

14 thoughts on “10 Things I think I think

  1. I changed schools this year, too. I moved from an elementary school 30 minutes away from home and am now the librarian for my son’s middle school. I have to admit that I got a little teary eyed when his class came in for their library orientation yesterday. You’ll love seeing your children in their “element.” Enjoy your year!

    Like

  2. 1. You are going to be a FANTASTIC teacher of 3rd graders! Once you absorb their level, you will innately know what to do to help them learn πŸ˜€

    2. Whenever you’re around kindred spirits—and CHILDREN’S BOOKS!—you are ALways going to have a blast!

    3. Always remember that, although we love to see the things and people WE love “win the prize” (that goes for the World Series, too), it’s not the most important things. I can usually see why a book wins the Newbery, and even the Honor books, but I also think about the many books that are published each year—some of GREAT merit—that sit quietly on shelves hoping to be noticed. Whenever there are “winners,” there are ultimately “losers.” I have more and more trouble with that as the years go by. So, with all that said, yes, root for the ones you love and be happy if they get acknowledged πŸ˜€

    Most of all, I LOVE how passionate you are about books, and your stress over Ivan is SO visible *endearing*

    4. BE BRAVE! I LOVE the whole mentality! I read about the “no rewards” and the “treasure” too πŸ™‚ LOVE ALL of it and agree a million percent (except I wish the sign didn’t have the Disney character on it. I’m a HUGE Disney fan, but something about that movie rubbed me the wrong way. Oh, well!)

    5. Oh, I am SO with you on FLORA AND THE FLAMINGO! I’m not a big fan of wordless picture books, but this one won me over immediately and I purchased it that quickly too!

    6. OK, that was one of the most interesting trailers I’ve ever seen! I can’t believe how much research he did for inspiration! Makes me feel like quite the slacker lol AMAZING work!

    7. I really hope you post a lot about this part of your new job πŸ˜€ Will your wife still have to drive them to school? πŸ™‚

    8. Was not aware of COUNTING BY 7s—-SO glad you mentioned it πŸ™‚

    9. Agreed πŸ™‚ Down with Hollywood Red! If there has to be a carpet, go for speckled. It doesn’t show lint and dirt! πŸ˜‰

    10. Well, I was a huge fan of the Yankees for many years, but finally put baseball in its place ’cause I needed to spend those countless hours on stuff that would get me somewhere πŸ™‚ I don’t know…how are the Tigers doing this year? Are they a shoe-in for the playoffs? I can remember them totally kicking our (the Yankees’) buttola back in 2006!

    11. I LOVE your list! πŸ˜€

    Like

  3. It is amazing to teach in a school with your kids. I love when I am taking my class to a special and a random child will pass and say, “You’re Katie’s mom.” And it is much sweeter when I am with my class in the hall and I get grabbed around the waist by a passing class, look down and see your child.

    Like

Leave a Reply

