5 Things I Loved About Last Week

I really enjoyed doing this post last week, so I figured I would try it again. It really puts me in a great frame of mind as I start gearing up for the coming week.

1. Marty McGuire

On Wednesday, we finished our first chapter book read aloud of the school year. This isn’t the first time I have read Marty McGuire aloud to a class, but it is the first time that I have read it to third graders. IT WAS A HIT. My students were all about this book from page one until we finished.

marty

2. Mr. Tiger Goes Wild

On Thursday, I read my class Mr. Tiger Goes Wild by Peter Brown. It was perfect. We had a great discussion about Mr. Tiger and our quick-write based on one of the images in the book was our best quick write of the year.

mrtiger

3. One. Step. Closer.

After two weeks of teaching third grade I was feeling very overwhelmed. I felt like I was struggling to click with the age, and I worried that I was doing a terrible job (I can be a little dramatic on Friday afternoons). After three weeks things are starting to click and I know that I can do a good job with these kiddos. I’ve loved them from day one, but after day 14 I feel like I’m finally starting to “get” them.

Things are clicking, and it feels so darn good.

4. Football Game

I have been attending Parma Western football games since I was four. I played for Western. My dad played for Western. My cousins, uncle, and brothers have played for Western. Western football is part of how we became the men that we are.

On Friday, I attended my first football game as a teacher of the district. It was amazing. Hearing students call my name was wonderful. In the third quarter, I had a great conversation about writing with two fourth graders. I have no idea what their names were, but they promised to bring me their stories when they finish them up. I’ll try and learn their names then.

IMG_20130920_190740

5. Author Visit

We ended our week with a visit from author Janet Tashjian and illustrator Jake Tashjain. There is nothing in the world quite like an author visit. The whole day is magical and the electricity in the air is something that I wish I could bottle up.

IMG_20130920_092542_890

 

IMG_20130920_101220_520

Jake drawing his version of #BeBrave.

6 thoughts on “5 Things I Loved About Last Week

  1. I REALLY enjoy reading your blogs and I almost always learn something. Would you please tell us a bit about the process for doing a “quick-write based on one of the images in the book?” It sounds like a meaningful writing exercise that even a sub (namely me) could employ.

    Like

    • I show the students an image and then they write for 5ish minutes about whatever they feel led to write about. After they are done, I give them some time to go back and make it better. Quick-write–revise!

      Like

  2. I love this blog idea. Can I “steal” it? I, too, can be dramatic on Fridays (just ask my husband – I had an especially dramatic one this week), and I was thinking today there were SO many good things that happened last week, but I ended up focusing on the few negative things and obsessing over them. This kind of post over the weekend would force me to look at the good things! I also love your quick write idea. I do quick writes, but I haven’t added the revision part. I really like that.

    Like

  3. Yep, you’re “absorbing” their level and soon you’ll be wondering why you were so concerned about “getting” your third graders 🙂

    And talking about your football history, you reminded me of that scene in “My Cousin Vinny”:

    Well my father was a mechanic. His father was a mechanic. My mother’s father was a mechanic. My three brothers are mechanics. Four uncles on my father’s side are mechanics —

    hehehe 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

