5 Things I Loved About Last Week 10/27/2013

Earlier today Mr. Schu and I announced the picks for the November #SharpSchu Twitter book club. Having a post scheduled for today made me almost forget about my “5 Things” post.

Ooops!

Here goes:

1. An Amazing Week of Reading

The first month of school is always hard on my reading life. September is always so busy, and it takes everything in me to just survive this wild and crazy month. This year I switched grades and school districts. These major changes have caused the start of the year craziness to extend through the second month of the school year. I’m pretty sure the whole year will be nuts, but I’m happy to report that last week was my best reading week of the year. I read some great books and I read a lot.

Yippee!

2. Sick Kid

I’m not really glad that my 3 year old was sick, but I am glad that I was able to help take care of her. In the past my wife has had sole kid duty anytime daycare called. It was pretty cool being able to be a dad when my little girl wasn’t feeling well.

3. Be Brave Guest Reader

Each Friday we have a guest reader come in and read to the class and then share a story about a time when they were brave. This is becoming my favorite part of our week. On Friday, we had TWO guest readers: a firefighter and a police officer. The firefighter even brought his firetruck. They both did a great job reading, and their be brave stories were powerful.

IMG_20131025_105550_939

4. Teaching Social Studies To Third Graders

I am learning a lot this year about how to teach third graders Michigan History. It is really hard. Most of the resources I have are written at a level too high for my students. On Thursday, I tried reading an article with them about the Mackinac Bridge. It was a disaster. It was long, sort of boring, and I didn’t abandon it when I should have.

I felt discouraged for the rest of the night.

I woke up super early Friday morning and put together a blog post on our class blog filled with images, videos, articles, and facts for the students to use during Friday’s social studies session. This lesson went about a billion times better, and I’m starting to think that I might just be able to teach these third graders some things:)

mackinac

5. When Life Gives You OJ?

Many of my students are learning how to read chapter books. Sticking with books for more than one day is a struggle. Last week one of my readers devoured Erica Perl’s When Life Gives You OJ. He immediately started reading Aces Wild. I loved seeing the growth as a reader that this kid made in one week. It was just plain awesome.

One thought on “5 Things I Loved About Last Week 10/27/2013

  1. First, Colby, I just wanted to say that #SharpSchu was, once again…AMAZING! ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you!

    1. An Amazing Week of Reading

    Yay, for you! From the many books I see you list, your “barely reading” is a LOT for me! lol

    2. Sick Kid

    I heard her coughing in the background during your video, and for being a sick little girl, I think she was smiling, too, ’cause her dad got a chance to take care of her ๐Ÿ™‚

    3. Be Brave Guest Reader

    I just love this, and having the firetruck there, too, is VERY cool ๐Ÿ˜€

    4. Teaching Social Studies To Third Graders

    You’re a natural-born teacher, from what I’ve witnessed here, so even though you’re still getting your “sea legs” with some things, there’s no question you’ll bring it all together beautifully ๐Ÿ™‚

    5. When Life Gives You OJ?

    And I’ll bet your little devouring reader will help influence your other little readers to take the “Chapter Book” plunge more readily ๐Ÿ™‚ Love the trailer, too. Saw it a long time ago and thought it was pretty quirky, but it helped me understand what the book was about when I saw it on the B&N shelf!

    Like

Leave a Reply

