5 Things I Loved About Last Week 11/3/2013

5Things1

1. The One and Only Ivan

Reading aloud Katherine Applegate’s masterpiece to my third graders is changing how my third graders look at reading. I’m not sure that they are aware of the changes happening within them, but I can see it in their eyes.

2. Tellagami

When exploring news apps or websites I always ask myself, with this tool will my students be creators or consumers? We do use some consuming apps, but I like for a majority of the time my students spend in front of screens to be in the creation mode. The first question I ask myself when I find a creating tool is, can I teach students to use this tool by having them use it to booktalk? My students grow very comfortable giving booktalks in my classroom, so booktalks are a natural way to introduce apps. I am not teaching them to do something new and how to use a new tool. I am just teaching them how to use the new tool with something they are comfortable with (booktalks). Tellagami is a neat little app that I introduced my students to on Halloween. It was a huge hit. You can check out Β one of their booktalks by clicking on the link below.

https://tellagami.com/gami/5BR2M6/

3. The Day The Teaches Quit

Over the last two weeks my principal has read every student in the school The Days The Crayons Quit. On Halloween a bunch of us dressed up as crayons. It was super fun!

crayons

4. The Day After Halloween PD

Teaching on Halloween isn’t the easiest thing to do. Teaching the day after Halloween is super hard. The kids are exhausted as they recover from a day of excitement, candy, and costumes. This year, the kids in my district had the day off and teachers got a chance to spend the day working together. I really enjoyed getting a chance to get to know the teachers in my district a little better.

5. Halloween Night at Parma Elementary

For the first time our elementary school opened the lobby to pass out candy for Halloween. We took our kids trick-or-treating in the neighborhood, and when we got to Parma I was so happy to see that they school was packed with trick-or-treating families. It was a special night. The school felt like the heart of the community.


parma h

4 thoughts on “5 Things I Loved About Last Week 11/3/2013

  1. I really love your “5 Things,” Colby πŸ™‚

    1. The One and Only Ivan

    This must thrill you πŸ™‚ And I’m STILL feeling the afterglow of watching the Harvard Elementary “One Book, One School” video! I honestly think, regardless of the book that’s picked (there are so many wonderful ones), by doing the “One Book, One School” event, it is the most likely possibility to get kids finding reading as “cool” and worth their time ’cause EVERYone is doing it and engaging in the same conversation about that one book πŸ™‚ I just love it!

    2. Tellagami

    OK, I’m not a great advocate of an overuse of kids with electronics, but this is pretty cool πŸ™‚

    https://tellagami.com/gami/5BR2M6/

    3. The Day The Teaches Quit

    Green looks good on you, Colby πŸ™‚ Great idea you all had!

    4. The Day After Halloween PD

    AND

    5. Halloween Night at Parma Elementary

    I’m so happy for you that your transition to Parma has been so positive. It has it’s hurdles, but that just goes with any new territory. Honestly, I think you made a very wise choice in making the move, for SO many wonderful reasons πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

