10 Minute Review: 5, 6, 7 Nate! by Tim Federle

I haven’t written a blog post in nearly two weeks. Yikes! I’ve struggled the last few days trying to figure out how to kickstart this thing. I’ve settled on a short and sweet book review.

I only give myself 10 minutes to write these reviews. 10 minutes of writing and one minute to revise.

Ready…set…go!

nate

I read Tim Federle’s 5, 6, 7 Nate! on my plane ride home from The Rose Bowl. I loved every page.

About 175 pages in I thought about how it doesn’t really matter to me what is going on in this book. Tim does a marvelous job weaving strorylines together. The action rises, it falls, great climax…blah. blah. blah. He can flat out tell a story.

I am so in love with Tim’s characters that I would read a book about them doing pretty much nothing. Nate and company could hang out, with no conflict, and I would be perfectly happy. I love everything about Nate. He feels so authentic, so unique, so real.

5, 6, 7 Nate! is a book that will make the readers in your classroom laugh, cry, cheer, and reflect. It’s an important book. It’s a well written book. It’s a book that belongs and longs to be in every 5-8thish grade library in the country.

Buy the book. Read the book. Share the book. I bet you’ll fall in love with the characters just like I did.

(Review written in 8 minutes 34 seconds)

7 thoughts on “10 Minute Review: 5, 6, 7 Nate! by Tim Federle

  1. Colby, that’s one positive review! And in less than 10 minutes, no less! 😀 And honestly, I wish there was an openness to having some books (short) without any major conflicts and just for the fun of it!

    Like

  2. Just when I am wondering if I am going to run out of blogs to write a comment on for my own #nerdlution 50 comments/50 blogs/50 days, you post a review of a book that I have not yet seen. Thus, opening the door for a comment. As it turns out, my son and I are nearing the end of our stack of read-aloud books, so this one might be into the queue very soon. Thanks, Colby. Your flash review rocked!
    Kevin

    Like

  3. We’re excited that Tim Federle will be featured on an author panel at IRA 2014 in New Orleans! My son and I are also big fans of Nate (and my younger brother is named Nate, so ya know, that’s cool too). Thanks for the review! And good job getting back to the blog writing after taking time off.

    Like

  4. Love the 10 minute review! I’ve been writing 7 word reviews/summaries (a challenge to my tendency toward wordiness) for the last couple of months. Looking forward to reading more!

    Like

Leave a Reply

