5 Things I Loved About Last Week 2/1/2014

Be sure to visit Ruth Ayers blog to check out how our friends are celebrating today.

Be sure to visit Ruth Ayers blog to check out how our friends are celebrating today.

I’ve been slacking a bit on my blog lately. Hopefully today’s post will help me start to get back into a routine.

Here are 5 things I loved about last week:

1. A Newbery year for all readers

Did my favorite 2013 book win the Newbery Medal? Nope. Did that make me sad? Yup. The important thing for me to remember about the Newbery medal is that it isn’t about me, it isn’t about the committee, it isn’t even really about the authors that win. The Newbery is for the readers. It is an award dedicated to make sure that exceptionally well-written books are celebrated.

What I loved more than anything about this year’s winners is that they cover a wide range of readers. The Year of Billy Miller can be read by my third graders. One Came Home, Doll Bones and Paperboy is a book that middle schoolers can really get behind.

Flora & Ulysses can be appreciated by just about any reader.

Hooray for a Newbery year for everyone!

flora2

2. A Snicker of Magic

Right before I started this post I finished reading Natalie Lloyd’s A Snicker of Magic. A few of my Nerdy Book Club friends have been giving this books mad props, so I was super stoked to read Lloyd’s debut novel. The book did not disappoint. I found the last 60 pages to be “ignore your children and hope they don’t burn the house down” good.

snicker

3. Projects!

I have all sorts of big ideas bouncing around my head: infographics, battle of the books, author visits, reading night, fund raiser to support a Lit World lit club, presentations, Nerd Camp, Nerd Run, Nerd Camp Jr.

I’m thankful that I am surrounded by so many fabulous people that make these big idea possible, awesome, and invigorating.

4. Flora and the Flamingo

I cannot express how excited I was to see one of my daughters’ favorite books win a Caldecott honor. Librarians all over the world better invest in tape because this book is going to get a lot of love.

flora

5. A Crooked Kind of Perfect

I think that everything Linda Urban writes is distinguished: middle grade novels, tweets, blog posts. Each day I get to read this book aloud to my third grades. I am so blessed. Characters like Wheeler and Zoe entering the hearts of young readers are what make books so magical.

crooked

6 thoughts on “5 Things I Loved About Last Week 2/1/2014

  1. Well, Lois Bridges’ comment above is something to celebrate, too, Colby! I LOVED Flora and the Flamingo and am so happy for her Honor. I just ordered Snicker of Magic from our Scholastic book club and look forward to reading it!

    Like

  2. I always enjoy reading your posts and get lots of great book ideas from you. I’m going to start reading Flora and Ulysses as a read aloud on Monday. After reading it, I knew I wanted to share it with my kids. Your projects sound wonderful. I can’t wait to hear more about them. Have a great week!

    Like

Leave a Reply

