5, 4, 3, 2, 1, Interview: Maria V. Snyder

Screen Shot 2014-02-25 at 8.20.00 PM

I really really really love interviewing book creators on my blog. It’s a great week when I get to to it two days in a row! Today, I’m pumped to have Maria V. Snyder stop by to answer a handful of questions.

5,4,3,2,1 Interview

Here are the rules:

1. I give the interviewee 5 questions

2. They have to answer

  • 1 question with 5 sentences

  • 1 question with 4 sentences

  • 1 question with 3 sentences

  • 1 question with 2 sentences

  • 1 question with 1 sentence

1. Can you tell us a little bit about Storm Watcher?

A: STORM WATCHER is a book I wrote for my son Luke because, when he was younger, he didn’t like fantasy or science fiction stories (yes, I checked, he is my biological child 😉 so I wrote a story about a boy named Luke who was both fascinated and terrified of storms. His father and brothers are search and rescue volunteers, so on Luke’s 13th birthday, he will be getting his own Bloodhound puppy to train, however Luke rather have a petite Papillon instead. His dad says no, but Luke is determine to prove a Papillon can hold her own with the Bloodhounds even if that means facing his greatest fear. (3)

2. What is your favorite thing about being a writer?

A: My readers! They have been an unexpected source of joy.  I love hearing about how they’re inspired to write or paint or design book covers and costumes all because of my stories and characters.  I’ve had readers take kickboxing and karate (one lady earned her black belt!) and they share this with me, which is the best part of being a writer. (4)

3. What’s the hardest thing about being a writer?

A: Since I’m what’s known as a seat-of-the-pants writer, writing the first draft is always difficult for me as I discover the story as I write.  Many times when I’m working on a story I’ll go in the wrong direction or get stuck on what to write next because I don’t outline ahead of time. (2)

4. If you could spend one day inside the world of any book which book would you pick?

A: I’m torn between one of my Study books and Harry Potter, but I think I’d love to spend the day at Hogwarts (who wouldn’t?). (1)

5. What advice do you have for the young writers in my classroom?

A: Be Persistent! Don’t give up! Learn the craft of writing as well as the business of writing and attend writer’s conferences and classes if you can. Be wary of predators, if someone is asking you for money proceed with the utmost caution, and get feedback on your stories from fellow writers before submitting, consider joining a critique group. And I agree whole heartily with Stephen King’s advice in his book, On Writing, where he wrote, “If you want to be a writer, you must do two things above all others: read a lot and write a lot.” (5)

Screen Shot 2014-02-25 at 8.17.11 PM

Tour Schedule

Wed 2/19 – The Book Monsters – review & giveaway

Thu 2/20 – I Am a Reader – interview & international giveaway

Fri 2/21 – Unleashing Readers – guest post & giveaway

Mon 2/24 – Bookalicious – review & international giveaway

Tue 2/25 – Kid Lit Frenzy – guest post & giveaway

Wed 2/26 – Sharpreads – review & giveaway

Thu 2/27 – The Mod Podge Bookshelf – guest post & giveaway

Fri 2/28 – The Windy Pages – review, interview & giveaway

Mon 3/3 – Teenage Reader – review & giveaway

Tue 3/4 – Read Now Sleep Later – review & international giveaway

Wed 3/5 – The Brain Lair – review & giveaway

 

“Storm

5 thoughts on “5, 4, 3, 2, 1, Interview: Maria V. Snyder

Leave a Reply

