Slice of Life: 22 Copies

I have always wanted to do this Slice of Life March thing. Well, maybe not always, but I have wanted to do it since I first heard about it a couple of years ago. I even tried it a couple years ago. I failed miserably. This year, I have decided that I want to start it, knowing full well that I won’t be able to keep up all month.

If you’d like to know more about the challenge check out Two Writing Teachers.
slice

Yesterday, I had a two hour delay. I had been up for a little over an hour when we got the call that school would be delayed. Usually when this happens I can’t go back to sleep, but after a long week I passed out instantly.

After a quick “nap”, I used the late start as a opportunity to school to school a little early and get a bunch of stuff done. My to-do list was way too long, so when I hit my classroom I was moving at full speed. I’m one of the leaders of my school’s communication team, and I felt like this was the day where I could show my team how to do morning announcements. I bounced all over the school trying to find communications team members that were at school early, hoping they would help me out. One of my last stops was the office. I wanted to see if my principal would be interested in letting me film her for our project. When I walked into the office I found my son sharing with his principal the story he wrote while I was running around the school. He managed to write a story and convince someone in the office to make him 22 copies all in the time that I was making announcements.

His story, The Adventures of TryPower, was handed out to his class yesterday morning. I’m glad that I was able to take some time before the morning bell to chat with my son about his book, and I’m thankful that I teach at a school worried more about developing writers than conserving copies.

My son even managed to give a booktalk for the morning announcements. He had a busy and productive morning!

14 thoughts on “Slice of Life: 22 Copies

  1. What a cool way to empower kids! I love the video announcement idea. 🙂 We just had Literacy Week at my school last week. It sounds like you guys are doing something similar.

    Don’t worry if you can’t slice everyday. My first year I only sliced about half the days, and that was a lot for me! Any days that you slice help you to grow as a writer. Keep going! you can do it!

    Like

  2. Yay, good for you! Even though you are feeling like this challenge is more than you can handle you are starting anyway. Who knows, maybe you will find a way to complete the challenge. I know that everyday that you write is a day closer to noticing your life a little more, an adventure closer to seeing into the mirror of your day. Enjoy your slicing adventure.

    Like

  3. OK, if this isn’t ” like father, like son” I don’t know WHAT is! This is the perfect way for me to end my blog-reading day, Colby! I can’t tell you how much I LOVE that your son wrote a story, BUT to think of having copies made to hand out. This is too scrumptious for words 🙂 Thank you for sharing this delicious “Slice of Life” 😀

    Like

    1. Do you know I was so caught up in READING the post, I forgot to watch the video! lol So like me (space cadet supreme). So glad Katherine mentioned it ’cause I came back to watch! That was great! And I LOVE that your principal has books for kids (and teachers) to borrow! How wonderful! GO READING!

      Like

  4. Your son is so cute – I love that he’s a writer! And Linda Urban is coming to your school?! How lucky are you!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

