Slice of Life: A Picture of a Bug

Be sure to check out more slices at Two Writing Teachers.

Be sure to check out more slices at Two Writing Teachers.

If you haven’t read Andrew Smith’s Grasshopper Jungle you probably should change that. If you have any interest in young adult literature chances are Grasshopper Jungle will blow your mind. The voice is so unique. A+ to Mr. Smith.

If you have read Grasshopper Jungle you know about these crazy 6 foot praying mantis-grasshopper killing machine bugs. They are quite possibly the scariest creatures I have ever read. I’m not really a bug fan, so monster killing bugs aren’t really my thing.

IMG_20140305_163314_583

The picture above hangs in the hallway outside my classroom. The students next door are working on informational reading and writing, and a lot of their learning is displayed in the hall.

Awesome, right?

Wrong.

Well the learning displayed in the hall is great, but staring at a picture of a praying mantis each time I walk into the hallway is pretty unnerving. I feel like that stupid bug is staring at me. It looks like it is ready to do one of the two things Andrew Smith’s bugs like to do: eat (if you want to learn the other things bugs love to do read Grasshopper Jungle).

I’m learning to live with the bug picture. I always walk on the opposite side of the hallway, and whenever possible I walk down the hall with a student next to me. I always make sure the student is between me and the bug.

grasshopper

Be sure to check out Cathy Blacker’s Nerdy Book Club review of Grasshopper Jungle.

7 thoughts on “Slice of Life: A Picture of a Bug

  1. I love how you connected with the reader in the middle of your reflection. Your short question and answer created a switch in your focus. Love the fact you walk on the opposite side of the hallway.

    Like

Leave a Reply

