Like Carrot Juice on a Cupcake

Like Carrot Juice on a Cupcake_cover

Like Carrot Juice on a Cupcake,  the third book in the series (I’m really sure what to call the series), Julie Sternberg and Matthew Cordell have created a wonderful book for the chapter book reader. I’m super excited to be able to reveal some of Matthew’s beautiful art in this post.

Before I give you at the inside art, I’m going to share a little bit about what I liked about this book. I got 99 problems and the new kid is one. Sometimes I feel like that is the rap song some of my third graders are singing. A new kid and school can totally change the dynamics both inside and outside of the classroom. I think Julie does a marvelous job capturing how a new student can effect friendships in a school setting.

Another thing I dig about this book is…a crush? I’ve decided that one of the best ways for kids to learn about getting crushes is from children’s literature. Kids are growing up WAY too fast, and I fear that reality television, social media, and YouTube are teaching them all the wrong things about how to view the opposite sex. I recently reread Linda Urban’s A Crooked Kind of Perfect. In A Crooked Kind of Perfect Linda Urban is able to take us inside the head of a kid trying to navigate the new and excited feelings she is having. I think that Julie Sternberg is able to capture the “new crush” issue masterfully in Like Carrot Juice on a Cupcake. The more we can get our kids to learn about big growing up moments inside the pages of a book instead of behind a screen the better.

Now for the main event. The art! This first picture could hang in every classroom and library in the universe. Aces!

Reading copy_low-res (1)

Now for picture number 2. I don’t know about you, but this image screams mentor text, or maybe mentor image/text.

Carrot Juice_Woof (2)

 

Be sure to check out Like Carrot Juice on a Cupcake. It’s super good.

2 thoughts on “Like Carrot Juice on a Cupcake

  1. We LOVE Julie’s books at our house. My 3rd grader took our signed copy of LIKE PICKLE JUICE ON A COOKIE to her class for read-aloud and EVERYONE enjoyed it. We’ve also read LIKE BUG JUICE ON A BURGER and I think I will have to head out to the bookstore TODAY to get CARROT JUICE! Thanks for alerting us to the good news!

    Like

Leave a Reply

