Slice of Life: My Dream Session

Be sure to check out more slices at Two Writing Teachers.

Be sure to check out more slices at Two Writing Teachers.

Last week at the Michigan Reading Association’s annual conference I had the privilege of moderating a panel with authors Linda Urban, Katherine Applegate, and Lisa McMann. When selling the panel to the author’s publishers and Michigan Reading I sold it as a welcome home session. A session where we could share all the great things that Michigan educators did for these fine writers while they were in Michigan classrooms.

As I began to plan the session, I realized that it was missing something. It was missing today’s students and all the wonderful things that current Michigan teachers are doing to groom the future writers, lawyers, doctors, pilots, and nurses from Michigan. I decided to invite two of my students to share the stage with us. They were amazing. They commanded respect with their enlightening responses.

Left to right: Lisa McMann, Linda Urban, Katherine Applegate, Katelyn, Gabby, Me

Left to right: Lisa McMann, Linda Urban, Katherine Applegate, Katelyn, Gabby, Me

 

My point of this whole thing was to help everyone remember that every single thing we do is for the students. It’s not about test scores, it’s not about us, and it is most certainly not about those new standards. It is about making a difference in the lives of the students we spend our days with.

gabby

Gabby has such a stage presence.

8 thoughts on “Slice of Life: My Dream Session

  1. “It’s about making a different in the lives of the students we spend our days with.” You are making that difference. Thanks!

    Like

  2. I love that you included students. You did that at NErDcamp, too, and I thought that was really special. Students are always part of one of my favorite conference, Dublin Literacy – they introduce speakers, perform, and speak. It reminds us to focus on the kids! Congrats on your dream session – it sure seemed to meet your expectations. Wish I had been there!

    Like

  3. Never underestimate the power of a student. Their enthusiasm, efficacy and willingness to challenge thinking are admirable. What I love most about teaching is learning from the students. You are a wise teacher to include your students. The body language above says it all. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  4. Come – share the stage with us —
    invite us into your learning
    open a door into your ideas
    push back against my words —
    this stage is not a stage after all
    but the world in which we learn
    together.

    –Kevin
    PS — lifted a line to make a poem. ‘Cause … that’s what I’ve been doing!
    🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

