10 Minute Review: Circa Now

From the time I start typing until the time I hit publish I give myself 10 minutes to write these reviews. I do not include time finding the cover image in my 10 minutes. 

Circa Now 

By: Amber McRee Turner

Circa

When students walk into my classroom on the first day of school they bring with them their story. All of their stories are different. Some are like mine was when I was a third grader: middle class, two parent household, a couple of siblings, a love for video games and spots. Some might live with a loving grandmother and a house full of cats, while others may have a story too sad to share in a blog post. My point is we all have a different story. We all have a story that we own, we live, a story in which we decide which parts to share and which parts to protect.

I say these things in this review because it is books like Circa Now that help us understand each other. Sure this a book that is genre-tricky, with amazing characters, and beautifully crafted plot, but what I love most about this book is that it allows me and my students to better understand, support, and love other.

Early in the book 12-year-old Circa’s dad is killed in a storm. Watching Circa and her depressed mother deal with their grief helps me to better understand the students in my classroom that are dealing with grief of their own. You see, in my 32 years on this planet I have lived a bit of a charmed life. I’ve never had a lot of money, but I’ve always had enough. I’ve lost family members, but I have never seen the people closest to me battle illness. Like my students, I need books like Circa Now to help me see a way in which grief can affect a family.

You should probably check out Circa Now when it hits stores May 27th. I’m guessing that a child that you know needs this book.

P.S. I didn’t even get a chance to talk about two of my favorite things in this book: Miles and trying to figure out the magic (tricky-tricky). Fans of Laurel Snyder’s Bigger Than a Bread Box are going to eat this one up.

Times up!

4 thoughts on “10 Minute Review: Circa Now

  1. Colby, this book sounds really intriguing! Thanks for the review on it. It’ll be on my TBR list, hoping I’ll eventually get to it! 😀 Any book that helps us understand what it’s like to be in someone else’s shoes is a good thing. That’s what can help change people in the most positive way 😀

    Like

  2. Circa Now sounds fabulous! I went to order and was disappointed we have to wait until the end of May for its release. However, a great book is worth the wait!! This review immediately made me think of Out Of My Mind by Sharon M. Draper, another book that opens our eyes to viewing life through the eyes of another. Colby, I love sharpread! You help this aunt stay current and make fabulous book selections for my niece and nephew. Thank you!

    Like

  3. I am so glad you gave the disclaimer at the beginning, not because your review was poorly executed, but exactly because it was wonderful, just right, just enough. I need to get over myself and say, “OK, 10 minutes to write a review. Just do it.” That’s the way to get down to the honest goodness about a book.
    I also think it is important to read about experiences we may or may not ever have. We need to know that everyone has a different story. I thought of One for the Murphys. The character and the mother were both people I could relate to, especially the mother. Thanks. Times up on this comment.

    Like

Leave a Reply

