I Know a Good Thing When I See It #WeNeedDiverseBooks

I am all for getting more diverse book published and into the hands of young readers. If you haven’t seen the movement that Kate Messner is a part of, I highly suggest you head to her blog and check it out.

Screen Shot 2014-04-30 at 11.38.16 AM

 

I’m not entirely sure how I’m going to participate, but one thing I am going to do is give away two copies of Varian Johnson’s  The Great Greene Heist that I will be purchasing from Bookbug in Kalamazoo, Michigan. I hope you will pay it forward.

 

Bookbug-logo-tagline-green-621x289

Must be 13 or older to enter giveaway.

I’m really digging some of the #WeNeedDiverseBooks tweets, so I’m going to embed some of them down here.

The hedgehogs are out picketing #weneeddiversebooks #spreadtheword

A post shared by Lauren Castillo (@studiocastillo) on

Spread the word #WeNeedDiverseBooks

A post shared by Lauren Castillo (@studiocastillo) on

2 thoughts on “I Know a Good Thing When I See It #WeNeedDiverseBooks

  1. It’s kind of cool to look back on this and see how much traction the movement has gotten. So excited to see some more diverse reads coming into the library, especially ones that normalize diversity for everyday life. It reminds me of what I love about Cleveland… all different types of people living in one city. Here’s to hoping this continues!

    Like

Leave a Reply

