5, 4, 3, 2, 1 Interview: Shirley Reva Vernick

I hope that everyone has a wonderful time celebrating Father’s Day today.

I always learn something new when I get the opportunity to interview authors, and today is no different. I’m very excited to share my 5, 4, 3, 2, 1 interview with Shirley Reva Vernick today.

Enjoy!

5, 4, 3, 2, 1 Interview Rules:

Here are the rules:

1. I give the interviewee 5 questions

2. They have to answer

  • 1 question with 5 sentences
  • 1 question with 4 sentences
  • 1 question with 3 sentences
  • 1 question with 2 sentences
  • 1 question with 1 sentence

3.  They get to pick which question which question to answer with each number of sentences

4. Have fun!

Black Butterfly cover final

1. Can you tell us a little bit about The Black Butterfly? (2 sentences)

Penny, a failed ghost hunter’s 16-year-old daughter, turns out to be the one with the supernatural gift—and she’s not sure she wants it. Confronted with her new talent while visiting a tiny island off the coast of Maine, she now wonders whether she can confront, liberate, elude, and even desire the spirits without losing her first love, her only parent, or her life. 

2. What is your favorite thing about being a writer? (1 sentence)

I love creating—creating characters, backstories, dilemmas, conflicts, opportunities, you name it.

3. What’s the hardest thing about being a writer? (4 sentence)

It’s tough to find myself in the middle of a scene, minding my own business, and suddenly one of the characters insists on a major plot change. I’m not against changing gears, mind you, but sometimes I get blindsided. That’s the thing when you create characters: they develop motives and agendas of their own. It’s almost always a better result when I listen to the characters, but it can be a challenge while it’s happening.  

4. If you could spend one day inside the world of any book which book would you pick? (3 sentences)

I don’t know what this says about my maturity level, but I’d pick Dr. Seuss’ The Cat in the Hat. I love the chaos, the temporary anarchy, and of course the cat. Also, it would be cool to talk in rhyme.

cat

5. What advice do you have for the young writers in my classroom? (5 sentences)

To all OF you developing writers, some of whom I hope are also aspiring writers, please don’t be intimidated by the polish of the published works you read. Those authors don’t have some magical power over words that you lack. Their books have been worked and reworked by the authors, their literary agents, editors and peers, and may represent the pinnacle of a long career of writing. So keep writing and keep editing your work. It will pay off in the long run.

 

One thought on “5, 4, 3, 2, 1 Interview: Shirley Reva Vernick

Leave a Reply

